Bug 94086

Summary: [Chromium] Make the popup positioning code testable
Product: WebKit Reporter: Kent Tamura <tkent>
Component: New BugsAssignee: Kent Tamura <tkent>
Status: RESOLVED FIXED    
Severity: Normal CC: apavlov, dglazkov, morrita, webkit.review.bot
Priority: P2    
Version: 528+ (Nightly build)   
Hardware: Unspecified   
OS: Unspecified   
Bug Depends on: 94087    
Bug Blocks:    
Attachments:
Description Flags
Patch 1
none
Patch 2 none

Kent Tamura
Reported 2012-08-15 01:58:51 PDT
We have complex logic in PopupContainer::layoutAndCalculateWidgetRect(). But we don't have automated tests for it.
Attachments
Patch 1 (15.30 KB, patch)
2012-08-17 00:43 PDT, Kent Tamura
no flags
Patch 2 (15.30 KB, patch)
2012-08-17 01:22 PDT, Kent Tamura
no flags
Kent Tamura
Comment 1 2012-08-17 00:43:32 PDT
WebKit Review Bot
Comment 2 2012-08-17 01:14:08 PDT
Comment on attachment 159028 [details] Patch 1 Attachment 159028 [details] did not pass chromium-ews (chromium-xvfb): Output: http://queues.webkit.org/results/13518513
Kent Tamura
Comment 3 2012-08-17 01:22:07 PDT
Created attachment 159043 [details] Patch 2 Fix signed-unsinged comparison
Hajime Morrita
Comment 4 2012-08-20 18:41:26 PDT
Comment on attachment 159043 [details] Patch 2 View in context: https://bugs.webkit.org/attachment.cgi?id=159043&action=review > Source/WebCore/platform/chromium/PopupContainer.h:122 > + static IntRect layoutAndCalculateWidgetRectInternal(IntRect widgetRectInScreen, int targetControlHeight, const FloatRect& windowRect, const FloatRect& screen, bool isRTL, const int rtlOffset, PopupContent*, bool& needToResizeView); This method has too many parameters. Probably these can be packed into a separate class then this method can be a part of that class.
Kent Tamura
Comment 5 2012-08-20 18:46:14 PDT
Comment on attachment 159043 [details] Patch 2 View in context: https://bugs.webkit.org/attachment.cgi?id=159043&action=review >> Source/WebCore/platform/chromium/PopupContainer.h:122 >> + static IntRect layoutAndCalculateWidgetRectInternal(IntRect widgetRectInScreen, int targetControlHeight, const FloatRect& windowRect, const FloatRect& screen, bool isRTL, const int rtlOffset, PopupContent*, bool& needToResizeView); > > This method has too many parameters. Probably these can be packed into a separate class then this method can be a part of that class. Sounds good. I might work on it later.
WebKit Review Bot
Comment 6 2012-08-20 19:34:04 PDT
Comment on attachment 159043 [details] Patch 2 Clearing flags on attachment: 159043 Committed r126121: <http://trac.webkit.org/changeset/126121>
WebKit Review Bot
Comment 7 2012-08-20 19:34:08 PDT
All reviewed patches have been landed. Closing bug.
Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.