Bug 74195

Summary: Force a layout before calls to layoutTestController.display()
Product: WebKit Reporter: Tony Chang <tony>
Component: Tools / TestsAssignee: Nobody <webkit-unassigned>
Status: RESOLVED INVALID    
Severity: Normal CC: ojan
Priority: P2    
Version: 528+ (Nightly build)   
Hardware: Unspecified   
OS: Unspecified   

Description Tony Chang 2011-12-09 12:04:48 PST
I tried to fix a flaky repaint test in Chromium by forcing a layout before a call to layoutTestController.display().

Darin suggested having DRT always call layout before display().  This might work, but we should see if
1) This is already happening on Mac (implicitly or explicitly).
2) Seeing if this regresses any tests on Chromium (it probably won't, but we'd want to verify).

http://test-results.appspot.com/dashboards/flakiness_dashboard.html#tests=fast%2Freplaced%2Fwidth100percent-textarea.html
Comment 1 Tony Chang 2011-12-09 16:54:04 PST
This didn't actual work in fixing the test.  Ojan points out that a layout doesn't force a paint, so maybe we need to fix DRT to both layout and paint in lTC.display() before drawing the grey box.
Comment 2 Tony Chang 2011-12-16 12:18:29 PST
Hmm, it looks like we already do this.  We layout and repaint before drawing the repaint mask.

http://trac.webkit.org/browser/trunk/Tools/DumpRenderTree/chromium/LayoutTestController.cpp#L1206

http://trac.webkit.org/browser/trunk/Tools/DumpRenderTree/chromium/WebViewHost.cpp#L1577