Bug 62856

Summary: Web Inspector: use stack trace to create anchors for console messages.
Product: WebKit Reporter: Pavel Podivilov <podivilov>
Component: Web Inspector (Deprecated)Assignee: Pavel Podivilov <podivilov>
Status: RESOLVED FIXED    
Severity: Normal CC: apavlov, bweinstein, dglazkov, joepeck, keishi, loislo, pfeldman, pmuellr, rik, timothy, webkit.review.bot, yurys
Priority: P2    
Version: 528+ (Nightly build)   
Hardware: All   
OS: All   
Attachments:
Description Flags
Patch.
webkit.review.bot: commit-queue-
Archive of layout-test-results from ec2-cr-linux-03
none
Build fix. yurys: review+

Pavel Podivilov
Reported 2011-06-17 04:46:03 PDT
Web Inspector: use stack trace to create anchors for console messages. So anchors link to exact location in pretty-print mode.
Attachments
Patch. (8.19 KB, patch)
2011-06-17 04:46 PDT, Pavel Podivilov
webkit.review.bot: commit-queue-
Archive of layout-test-results from ec2-cr-linux-03 (1.43 MB, application/zip)
2011-06-17 05:03 PDT, WebKit Review Bot
no flags
Build fix. (8.21 KB, patch)
2011-06-17 05:33 PDT, Pavel Podivilov
yurys: review+
Pavel Podivilov
Comment 1 2011-06-17 04:46:44 PDT
Yury Semikhatsky
Comment 2 2011-06-17 05:01:59 PDT
Comment on attachment 97580 [details] Patch. View in context: https://bugs.webkit.org/attachment.cgi?id=97580&action=review > Source/WebCore/inspector/front-end/ScriptsPanel.js:547 > + anchor.setAttribute("preferred_panel", "scripts"); You only need to set this once. > Source/WebCore/inspector/front-end/inspector.js:-1284 > - node.setAttribute("preferred_panel", preferredPanel); This code doesn't depend on a particular panel and it'd be better to keep it in a single place instead of repeating it in each panel. Please revert this piece.
WebKit Review Bot
Comment 3 2011-06-17 05:03:36 PDT
Comment on attachment 97580 [details] Patch. Attachment 97580 [details] did not pass chromium-ews (chromium-xvfb): Output: http://queues.webkit.org/results/8877558 New failing tests: inspector/console/console-eval-scoped.html
WebKit Review Bot
Comment 4 2011-06-17 05:03:41 PDT
Created attachment 97585 [details] Archive of layout-test-results from ec2-cr-linux-03 The attached test failures were seen while running run-webkit-tests on the chromium-ews. Bot: ec2-cr-linux-03 Port: Chromium Platform: Linux-2.6.35-28-virtual-x86_64-with-Ubuntu-10.10-maverick
Yury Semikhatsky
Comment 5 2011-06-17 05:04:49 PDT
Comment on attachment 97580 [details] Patch. View in context: https://bugs.webkit.org/attachment.cgi?id=97580&action=review > Source/WebCore/inspector/front-end/ConsoleView.js:787 > + var urlElement = WebInspector.linkifyCallFrameAsNode(this._stackTrace[0], "console-message-url"); using this.url and this.line should work equally well, what's the point in using top frame here?
Pavel Podivilov
Comment 6 2011-06-17 05:23:12 PDT
(In reply to comment #2) > (From update of attachment 97580 [details]) > View in context: https://bugs.webkit.org/attachment.cgi?id=97580&action=review > > > Source/WebCore/inspector/front-end/ScriptsPanel.js:547 > > + anchor.setAttribute("preferred_panel", "scripts"); > > You only need to set this once. Could you please clarify? > > > Source/WebCore/inspector/front-end/inspector.js:-1284 > > - node.setAttribute("preferred_panel", preferredPanel); > > This code doesn't depend on a particular panel and it'd be better to keep it in a single place instead of repeating it in each panel. Please revert this piece. It depends on a particular panel. Default panel is resources panel and it is set by createAnchor in Panel.js. Overrided createAnchor in ScriptsPanel may change it if scripts panel indeed can show anchor location. > using this.url and this.line should work equally well, what's the point in using top frame here? We also need column number here to provide accurate mapping in pretty-print mode.
Pavel Podivilov
Comment 7 2011-06-17 05:33:31 PDT
Created attachment 97587 [details] Build fix.
Pavel Podivilov
Comment 8 2011-06-22 02:36:02 PDT
Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.