Bug 62543

Summary: [GTK] [Stable] webkit-gtk-1.4.1: make argument list is too long
Product: WebKit Reporter: Pacho Ramos <pachoramos1>
Component: New BugsAssignee: Nobody <webkit-unassigned>
Status: RESOLVED FIXED    
Severity: Normal CC: gnome, jay.bhaskar, joop.boonen, kevin.cs.oh, mrobinson, paul, pnormand, xan.lopez, yujie.mao
Priority: P2    
Version: 528+ (Nightly build)   
Hardware: Unspecified   
OS: Unspecified   
Attachments:
Description Flags
environment
none
build.log none

Description Pacho Ramos 2011-06-13 08:31:23 PDT
Created attachment 96958 [details]
environment

For a long time some users are hitting this problem downstream at:
http://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=300867

make -j3 XDG_DATA_HOME=/var/tmp/portage/net-libs/webkit-gtk-1.4.1-r200/temp/.local 
echo WTF_USE_NATIVE_GTK_MAIN_FRAME_SCROLLBAR=1 ENABLE_CHANNEL_MESSAGING=1 ENABLE_METER_TAG=1 ENABLE_PROGRESS_TAG=1 ENABLE_JAVASCRIPT_DEBUGGER=1 ENABLE_OFFLINE_WEB_APPLICATIONS=1 ENABLE_DATABASE=1 ENABLE_DATALIST=1 ENABLE_EVENTSOURCE=1 ENABLE_DOM_STORAGE=1 ENABLE_VIDEO=1 ENABLE_FULLSCREEN_API=1 ENABLE_XPATH=1 ENABLE_XSLT=1 ENABLE_WORKERS=1 ENABLE_SHARED_WORKERS=1 ENABLE_FILTERS=1 ENABLE_BLOB=1
make: execvp: echo: Argument list too long
make: *** [DerivedSources/webkit/WebKitDOMCSSRule.h] Error 127

Thanks for your help
Comment 1 Pacho Ramos 2011-06-13 08:31:46 PDT
Created attachment 96959 [details]
build.log
Comment 2 Philippe Normand 2011-11-30 09:06:06 PST
You need a patched Make: http://thread.gmane.org/gmane.comp.gnu.make.bugs/4219
Comment 3 Pacho Ramos 2011-12-18 03:37:01 PST
This is still failing even with patched make:
https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=300867#c80
Comment 4 Philippe Normand 2012-01-04 01:21:35 PST
(In reply to comment #3)
> This is still failing even with patched make:
> https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=300867#c80

The discussion in that downstream bug is a bit confusing, hard to follow. :(
Do you get some progress in the build after applying the suggestion of comment 15 of that bug?
Comment 5 Martin Robinson 2012-04-10 08:31:02 PDT
*** Bug 83556 has been marked as a duplicate of this bug. ***
Comment 6 Martin Robinson 2012-04-10 08:31:38 PDT
*** Bug 76798 has been marked as a duplicate of this bug. ***
Comment 7 jaybhaskar 2012-05-05 23:35:03 PDT
(In reply to comment #0)
> Created an attachment (id=96958) [details]
> environment
> 
> For a long time some users are hitting this problem downstream at:
> http://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=300867
> 
> make -j3 XDG_DATA_HOME=/var/tmp/portage/net-libs/webkit-gtk-1.4.1-r200/temp/.local 
> echo WTF_USE_NATIVE_GTK_MAIN_FRAME_SCROLLBAR=1 ENABLE_CHANNEL_MESSAGING=1 ENABLE_METER_TAG=1 ENABLE_PROGRESS_TAG=1 ENABLE_JAVASCRIPT_DEBUGGER=1 ENABLE_OFFLINE_WEB_APPLICATIONS=1 ENABLE_DATABASE=1 ENABLE_DATALIST=1 ENABLE_EVENTSOURCE=1 ENABLE_DOM_STORAGE=1 ENABLE_VIDEO=1 ENABLE_FULLSCREEN_API=1 ENABLE_XPATH=1 ENABLE_XSLT=1 ENABLE_WORKERS=1 ENABLE_SHARED_WORKERS=1 ENABLE_FILTERS=1 ENABLE_BLOB=1
> make: execvp: echo: Argument list too long
> make: *** [DerivedSources/webkit/WebKitDOMCSSRule.h] Error 127
> 
> Thanks for your help

This is problem from os. by default maximum argument size is hard coded in linux source. i have solved this issue by making changes in linux source limits.h.
ARG_MAX like macro. increase this value. make kernel and install it.
Comment 8 Pacho Ramos 2012-05-06 01:57:24 PDT
Is not possible to set ARG_MAX without needing to change the source?
Comment 9 jaybhaskar 2012-07-04 03:45:38 PDT
(In reply to comment #8)
> Is not possible to set ARG_MAX without needing to change the source?

no, it is not possible to change
Comment 10 Paul Alesius 2012-08-10 06:26:58 PDT
(In reply to comment #8)
> Is not possible to set ARG_MAX without needing to change the source?

Yes, with ulimit -s, you can see it being increased on getconf ARG_MAX.


The problem is that even after increasing this to ulimit -s unlimited, I still get:

make[1]: execvp: /bin/sh: Argument list too long
make[1]: *** [libWebCore.la] Error 127
make[1]: Leaving directory `/home/build/shell/src/webkit-1.9.6'

## Webkit version: 1.9.6
Comment 11 Martin Robinson 2014-04-08 18:52:53 PDT
CMake fixes all these issues.