Bug 51903

Summary: Tell UI process which subframe is largest
Product: WebKit Reporter: Alexey Proskuryakov <ap>
Component: WebKit2Assignee: Alexey Proskuryakov <ap>
Status: RESOLVED FIXED    
Severity: Normal CC: andersca, commit-queue, sam, sullivan
Priority: P2    
Version: 528+ (Nightly build)   
Hardware: All   
OS: All   
Attachments:
Description Flags
proposed patch
sam: review+
patch for landing none

Description Alexey Proskuryakov 2011-01-04 15:31:01 PST
Some WebKit clients need to know which frame in a frameset is largest for their UI decisions. They want the answer synchronously.

Since UI process doesn't track frame sizes, and we want to keep it that way, it needs to track which frame is largest.
Comment 1 Alexey Proskuryakov 2011-01-04 15:40:08 PST
Created attachment 77938 [details]
proposed patch

Some potential areas of concern:
- Is the algorithm what clients want? I reinvented it.
- There is no strong guarantee that new data members will be cleared up when frame tree changes. As far as I can tell, WebFrame classes on both sides will not be too upset, but I can't be sure.
Comment 2 Sam Weinig 2011-01-04 15:55:29 PST
Comment on attachment 77938 [details]
proposed patch

I think the names need to indicate that it is the largest frame is in the mainFrame frameset.  I am also not sure we really need to be doing this on all contentSize changes, but I don't think it matters.
Comment 3 Alexey Proskuryakov 2011-01-04 16:11:22 PST
Created attachment 77943 [details]
patch for landing

I couldn't come up with better names. The fact that these member variables are in per-page classes should hopefully serve as a hint.
Comment 4 WebKit Commit Bot 2011-01-05 01:33:15 PST
Comment on attachment 77943 [details]
patch for landing

Clearing flags on attachment: 77943

Committed r75054: <http://trac.webkit.org/changeset/75054>
Comment 5 WebKit Commit Bot 2011-01-05 01:33:21 PST
All reviewed patches have been landed.  Closing bug.