Bug 44233

Summary: Enable truncated floating point feature on ARM
Product: WebKit Reporter: Gabor Loki <loki>
Component: JavaScriptCoreAssignee: Gabor Loki <loki>
Status: RESOLVED FIXED    
Severity: Enhancement CC: barraclough, eric, webkit.review.bot, yong.li.webkit
Priority: P2    
Version: 528+ (Nightly build)   
Hardware: Other   
OS: All   
Attachments:
Description Flags
Enable truncated floating point feature on ARM barraclough: review+

Gabor Loki
Reported 2010-08-19 00:44:34 PDT
We can enable truncated floating point fast cases to speed up several arithmetic tests.
Attachments
Enable truncated floating point feature on ARM (4.66 KB, patch)
2010-08-19 00:54 PDT, Gabor Loki
barraclough: review+
Gabor Loki
Comment 1 2010-08-19 00:54:19 PDT
Created attachment 64816 [details] Enable truncated floating point feature on ARM SunSpider: 1.011x as fast V8: 1.003x as fast WindScorpion: 1.003x as fast
WebKit Review Bot
Comment 2 2010-08-19 00:56:12 PDT
Attachment 64816 [details] did not pass style-queue: Failed to run "['WebKitTools/Scripts/check-webkit-style']" exit_code: 1 JavaScriptCore/assembler/ARMAssembler.h:375: cmn_r is incorrectly named. Don't use underscores in your identifier names. [readability/naming] [4] JavaScriptCore/assembler/ARMAssembler.h:587: vcvtr_s32_f64_r is incorrectly named. Don't use underscores in your identifier names. [readability/naming] [4] Total errors found: 2 in 3 files If any of these errors are false positives, please file a bug against check-webkit-style.
Gabor Loki
Comment 3 2010-08-25 00:52:35 PDT
Committed revision 65993.
Yong Li
Comment 4 2011-09-06 08:02:15 PDT
(In reply to comment #3) > Committed revision 65993. This solution doesn't work for this test case: var largeNeg=-2715228072; alert(largeNeg >>> 5); // wrong when using ARM assembler. Also see https://bugs.webkit.org/show_bug.cgi?id=67486 Should we revert this commit?
Gavin Barraclough
Comment 5 2011-09-06 11:07:16 PDT
We should fix or revert. Do you have time to look into this Gabor, or would you prefer we just roll out for now? We should also add the test case to a layout test, if it is not already covered.
Yong Li
Comment 6 2011-09-06 14:12:31 PDT
(In reply to comment #5) > We should fix or revert. Do you have time to look into this Gabor, or would you prefer we just roll out for now? > > We should also add the test case to a layout test, if it is not already covered. I attached a patch to https://bugs.webkit.org/show_bug.cgi?id=67486, which contains a test case. Should I move that patch to here and close 67486?
Gavin Barraclough
Comment 7 2011-09-06 17:16:07 PDT
Hey Yong Li, thanks for the test case, and using a separate bug to track the roll out seems fine to me (this is what the sheriff bot does). Rolled out by bug #67486
Eric Seidel (no email)
Comment 8 2011-12-21 14:33:44 PST
Attachment 64816 [details] was posted by a committer and has review+, assigning to Gabor Loki for commit.
Gavin Barraclough
Comment 9 2012-03-13 13:03:45 PDT
This change was rolled out, looks like this is fixed by bug #67486 , and this change is now dead. Closing as invalid. If this is likely to be resurrected then apologies, and please feel free to reopen this bug.
Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.