Bug 29235

Summary: Fix up user-input value of input[type=url]
Product: WebKit Reporter: Kent Tamura <tkent>
Component: FormsAssignee: Nobody <webkit-unassigned>
Status: NEW ---    
Severity: Normal CC: arv, cmarcelo, darin, ian, jonlee, me, mikey.j.clarke, pkasting, ravi.kasibhatla, syoichi, webmaster
Priority: P2    
Version: 528+ (Nightly build)   
Hardware: All   
OS: All   
URL: http://www.whatwg.org/specs/web-apps/current-work/#url-state
Bug Depends on: 27456    
Bug Blocks: 19264    

Description Kent Tamura 2009-09-13 18:06:38 PDT
We had better provide some fixing up for values of <input>.
e.g.
If a user specify "www.apple.com" for <input type=url>, a browser fixes it to "http://www.apple.com"

See the discussion in https://bugs.webkit.org/show_bug.cgi?id=27456
Comment 1 Kent Tamura 2011-01-26 15:38:43 PST
*** Bug 53187 has been marked as a duplicate of this bug. ***
Comment 2 Evan Carroll 2011-04-20 10:31:53 PDT
I'd love to see this fixed. HTML5 websites are being created right now with fields erroneously marked type="text". We could get the desired effect and start building apps now if this bug was closed -- and in the future, UI improvements that pulled from bookmarks, or history could be enjoyed.
Comment 3 Ravi Phaneendra Kasibhatla 2011-10-13 04:57:06 PDT
As per discussion in https://bugs.webkit.org/show_bug.cgi?id=27456#c25, there were 4 approaches for solving the issue. What is the consensus on the approaches? I am planning to take up this issue and provide the patch for the same.
Comment 4 Kent Tamura 2011-10-13 19:55:48 PDT
(In reply to comment #3)
> As per discussion in https://bugs.webkit.org/show_bug.cgi?id=27456#c25, there were 4 approaches for solving the issue. What is the consensus on the approaches? I am planning to take up this issue and provide the patch for the same.

Now we can have different strings in HTMLInputElement::value (HTMLInputElement::m_valueIfDirty or value= attribute value) and UI value (innerTextValue, visibleValue()).  We can add fix-up implementation to URLInputType::convertFromVisibleValue().
Comment 5 Kent Tamura 2012-10-18 22:53:11 PDT
*** Bug 99764 has been marked as a duplicate of this bug. ***