Bug 208567

Summary: WebChromeClient::createImageBuffer should not create a connection to GPU Process if page does not want remote rendering
Product: WebKit Reporter: youenn fablet <youennf>
Component: Layout and RenderingAssignee: youenn fablet <youennf>
Status: RESOLVED FIXED    
Severity: Normal CC: bfulgham, commit-queue, sabouhallawa, simon.fraser, thorton, webkit-bug-importer, wenson_hsieh, zalan
Priority: P2 Keywords: InRadar
Version: WebKit Nightly Build   
Hardware: Unspecified   
OS: Unspecified   
Attachments:
Description Flags
Patch none

youenn fablet
Reported 2020-03-04 01:33:44 PST
WebChromeClient::createImageBuffer should not create a connection to GPU Process if page does not want remote rendering
Attachments
Patch (5.98 KB, patch)
2020-03-04 01:49 PST, youenn fablet
no flags
youenn fablet
Comment 1 2020-03-04 01:47:26 PST
youenn fablet
Comment 2 2020-03-04 01:49:19 PST
WebKit Commit Bot
Comment 3 2020-03-04 08:32:05 PST
Comment on attachment 392394 [details] Patch Clearing flags on attachment: 392394 Committed r257845: <https://trac.webkit.org/changeset/257845>
WebKit Commit Bot
Comment 4 2020-03-04 08:32:06 PST
All reviewed patches have been landed. Closing bug.
Said Abou-Hallawa
Comment 5 2020-03-04 08:41:09 PST
Comment on attachment 392394 [details] Patch View in context: https://bugs.webkit.org/attachment.cgi?id=392394&action=review > Source/WebKit/WebProcess/WebCoreSupport/WebChromeClient.cpp:-910 > - RenderingMode mode; > - if (m_page.shouldUseRemoteRenderingFor(purpose)) > - mode = shouldAccelerate == ShouldAccelerate::Yes ? RenderingMode::RemoteAccelerated : RenderingMode::RemoteUnaccelerated; > - else if (shouldUseDisplayList == ShouldUseDisplayList::Yes) > - mode = shouldAccelerate == ShouldAccelerate::Yes ? RenderingMode::DisplayListAccelerated : RenderingMode::DisplayListUnaccelerated; > - else > - mode = shouldAccelerate == ShouldAccelerate::Yes ? RenderingMode::Accelerated : RenderingMode::Unaccelerated; > - return ensureRemoteRenderingBackend().createImageBuffer(size, mode, resolutionScale, colorSpace); With this change, the argument 'shouldUseDisplayList' became unused. How does not the compiler catch this?
youenn fablet
Comment 6 2020-03-04 08:42:51 PST
> With this change, the argument 'shouldUseDisplayList' became unused. How > does not the compiler catch this? WebCore has that constraint, not WebKit. It would be nice to be consistent.
Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.