Bug 199413

Summary: Web Inspector: Elements: DOM breakpoints context menu items inserted first when accessed via status image
Product: WebKit Reporter: Matt Baker <mattbaker>
Component: Web InspectorAssignee: Matt Baker <mattbaker>
Status: NEW ---    
Severity: Normal CC: hi, inspector-bugzilla-changes
Priority: P3    
Version: WebKit Nightly Build   
Hardware: All   
OS: All   
Attachments:
Description Flags
Patch hi: review-

Description Matt Baker 2019-07-02 11:32:46 PDT
Summary:
DOM breakpoints context menu items inserted first when accessed via status image.

Steps to Reproduce:
1. Right-click the DOM node in the tree to show context menu
2. Add any DOM breakpoint (e.g.: Break on > Attribute Modified)
3. Right-click the DOM breakpoint indicator to show context menu

Expected:
    Add
    Edit
    Copy
    Delete
    Toggle Visibility
    -
    Forced Pseudo-Classes
    -
    Break on
    -
    Disable Breakpoint
    Delete Breakpoint
    -
    etc.

Actual:
    Break on
    -
    Disable Breakpoint
    Delete Breakpoint
    -
    Add
    Edit
    Copy
    Delete
    Toggle Visibility
    -
    Forced Pseudo-Classes
    -
    etc.
Comment 1 Matt Baker 2019-07-02 11:36:00 PDT
Created attachment 373342 [details]
Patch
Comment 2 Devin Rousso 2019-07-02 11:43:23 PDT
Comment on attachment 373342 [details]
Patch

r-, I did this intentionally.  If a user shows a context menu specifically for the breakpoint icon, it likely means that they want to do something with breakpoints, as it's pretty "small" and is way far over in the gutter area.  As such, we should put the actions for breakpoints closer to the top.
Comment 3 Matt Baker 2019-07-02 11:52:42 PDT
(In reply to Devin Rousso from comment #2)
> Comment on attachment 373342 [details]
> Patch
> 
> r-, I did this intentionally.  If a user shows a context menu specifically
> for the breakpoint icon, it likely means that they want to do something with
> breakpoints, as it's pretty "small" and is way far over in the gutter area. 
> As such, we should put the actions for breakpoints closer to the top.

I see your reasoning, however I don't think it's a good idea to render the menu for reasons like this. We show all the other menu items for the node, so it is not as if its a "DOM breakpoint only" context menu.