Bug 167272

Summary: Require a button press on a gamepad for them to be exposed to the DOM
Product: WebKit Reporter: Brady Eidson <beidson>
Component: WebCore Misc.Assignee: Brady Eidson <beidson>
Status: RESOLVED FIXED    
Severity: Normal CC: achristensen, commit-queue, joepeck
Priority: P2 Keywords: InRadar
Version: WebKit Nightly Build   
Hardware: Unspecified   
OS: Unspecified   
Attachments:
Description Flags
Patch none

Description Brady Eidson 2017-01-20 17:40:02 PST
Require a button press on a gamepad for them to be exposed to the DOM

<rdar://problem/28620919>
Comment 1 Brady Eidson 2017-01-20 17:42:59 PST
Created attachment 299412 [details]
Patch
Comment 2 WebKit Commit Bot 2017-01-20 18:25:32 PST
Comment on attachment 299412 [details]
Patch

Clearing flags on attachment: 299412

Committed r211007: <http://trac.webkit.org/changeset/211007>
Comment 3 WebKit Commit Bot 2017-01-20 18:25:35 PST
All reviewed patches have been landed.  Closing bug.
Comment 4 Joseph Pecoraro 2017-01-30 23:26:16 PST
Hmm, I'm seeing this test as flakey on a lot of EWS bots this past week:
gamepad/gamepad-visibility-1.html

I'm able to reproduce this locally, when I run the test 10 times it typically fails the first time and passes all the rest:

  $ run-webkit-tests --iterations=10 --exit-after-n-failures=1 gamepad/gamepad-visibility-1.html

When it fails I see:

--- /layout-test-results/gamepad/gamepad-visibility-1-expected.txt
+++ /layout-test-results/gamepad/gamepad-visibility-1-actual.txt
@@ -1,2 +1,2 @@
-No connect event seen in 20 run loop spins. Yay.
+Connect event seen! Should NOT have been seen

Before marking the test as flakey is there some debugging we can add to the test that would make it easier to investigate?
Comment 5 Joseph Pecoraro 2017-01-30 23:47:32 PST
From the WebContentProcess side I see the dispatch via:

(lldb) bt
* thread #1, queue = 'com.apple.main-thread', stop reason = step over
    frame #0: WebCore`WebCore::GamepadManager::makeGamepadVisible(this=0x000000011910eb08, platformGamepad=0x00007fcfd0e05910, navigatorSet=0x000000011910eb18, domWindowSet=0x000000011910eb68) at GamepadManager.cpp:159
    frame #1: WebCore`WebCore::GamepadManager::platformGamepadConnected(this=0x000000011910eb08, platformGamepad=0x00007fcfd0e05910) at GamepadManager.cpp:76
    frame #2: WebKit`WebKit::WebGamepadProvider::gamepadConnected(this=0x000000010f64eb10, gamepadData=0x00007fff542baea8) at WebGamepadProvider.cpp:84
    frame #3: WebKit`WebKit::WebProcess::gamepadConnected(this=0x00007fcfd1006400, gamepadData=0x00007fff542baea8) at WebProcess.cpp:1026
    frame #4: WebKit`void IPC::callMemberFunctionImpl<WebKit::WebProcess, void (WebKit::WebProcess::*)(WebKit::GamepadData const&), std::__1::tuple<WebKit::GamepadData>, 0ul>(object=0x00007fcfd1006400, function=40 70 ee 0e 01 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00, args=0x00007fff542baea8, (null)=std::__1::index_sequence<0UL> @ 0x00007fff542badd0)(WebKit::GamepadData const&), std::__1::tuple<WebKit::GamepadData>&&, std::__1::integer_sequence<unsigned long, 0ul>) at HandleMessage.h:40

Is there something that should be preventing the platformGamepadConnected here?
Comment 6 Joseph Pecoraro 2017-01-31 21:38:54 PST
Ryan marked this as flakey (see bug 167517).