Bug 151374

Summary: Web Inspector: Update Timeline UI based on the Instruments in the Active Recording
Product: WebKit Reporter: Joseph Pecoraro <joepeck>
Component: Web InspectorAssignee: Joseph Pecoraro <joepeck>
Status: RESOLVED FIXED    
Severity: Normal CC: bburg, graouts, joepeck, mattbaker, nvasilyev, timothy, webkit-bug-importer
Priority: P2 Keywords: InRadar
Version: WebKit Nightly Build   
Hardware: All   
OS: All   
Attachments:
Description Flags
[PATCH] Proposed Fix bburg: review+, bburg: commit-queue-

Description Joseph Pecoraro 2015-11-17 17:17:06 PST
* SUMMARY
Update Timeline UI based on the Instruments in the Active Recording.

Dynamically update the Timeline UI based on the Instruments in the Active Recording.

    - load a new Timeline with Network/Layout instruments
      => TimelineOverview should have 2 rows and not offer RenderingFrames view of time (basic toolbar)

    - load a new Timeline with Network/Layout/Scripts/FPS instruments
      => TimelineOverview should have 3 rows, and offer RenderingFrames view of time (toggle toolbar)

There isn't yet UI to change the instruments used by Timelines, but this ensures the UI updates properly.
Comment 1 Radar WebKit Bug Importer 2015-11-17 17:17:41 PST
<rdar://problem/23586487>
Comment 2 Joseph Pecoraro 2015-11-17 17:22:06 PST
Created attachment 265720 [details]
[PATCH] Proposed Fix

I don't expect this to build, it relies on earlier patches.
Comment 3 BJ Burg 2015-11-18 16:54:24 PST
Comment on attachment 265720 [details]
[PATCH] Proposed Fix

View in context: https://bugs.webkit.org/attachment.cgi?id=265720&action=review

r=me

> Source/WebInspectorUI/UserInterface/Views/TimelineSidebarPanel.js:841
> +        const timelineHeight = 36;

FIXME: this will (hopefully) (eventually) be dynamically resizable per timeline. Important once we have graphs and not pills.
Comment 4 Joseph Pecoraro 2015-12-01 13:56:36 PST
<http://trac.webkit.org/changeset/192907>