Bug 145719

Summary: [iOS] Don't force compositing layers for no-op 3D transforms on low-memory devices.
Product: WebKit Reporter: Andreas Kling <kling>
Component: Layout and RenderingAssignee: Andreas Kling <kling>
Status: REOPENED    
Severity: Normal CC: commit-queue, esprehn+autocc, ggaren, glenn, kling, kondapallykalyan, simon.fraser
Priority: P2 Keywords: InRadar, Performance
Version: 528+ (Nightly build)   
Hardware: Unspecified   
OS: Unspecified   
Bug Depends on: 145723    
Bug Blocks:    
Attachments:
Description Flags
Patch ggaren: review+

Andreas Kling
Reported 2015-06-05 16:58:24 PDT
Attachments
Patch (2.64 KB, patch)
2015-06-05 16:59 PDT, Andreas Kling
ggaren: review+
Andreas Kling
Comment 1 2015-06-05 16:59:45 PDT
WebKit Commit Bot
Comment 2 2015-06-05 17:01:46 PDT
Attachment 254398 [details] did not pass style-queue: ERROR: Source/WebCore/rendering/RenderLayerCompositor.cpp:66: Alphabetical sorting problem. [build/include_order] [4] Total errors found: 1 in 2 files If any of these errors are false positives, please file a bug against check-webkit-style.
Geoffrey Garen
Comment 3 2015-06-05 17:15:54 PDT
Comment on attachment 254398 [details] Patch View in context: https://bugs.webkit.org/attachment.cgi?id=254398&action=review r=me > Source/WebCore/rendering/RenderLayerCompositor.cpp:2476 > + static uint64_t memSize = ramSize() / 1024 / 1024; Please call this ramSizeInMB. > Source/WebCore/rendering/RenderLayerCompositor.cpp:2478 > + // Special policy for low-memory devices: Don't require compositing just because there's a no-op 3D transform. I really really really wish we did this all the time.
Andreas Kling
Comment 4 2015-06-05 19:22:20 PDT
(In reply to comment #3) > > Source/WebCore/rendering/RenderLayerCompositor.cpp:2478 > > + // Special policy for low-memory devices: Don't require compositing just because there's a no-op 3D transform. > > I really really really wish we did this all the time. Me too, really x3.
Andreas Kling
Comment 5 2015-06-05 20:12:11 PDT
WebKit Commit Bot
Comment 6 2015-06-06 01:39:47 PDT
Re-opened since this is blocked by bug 145723
Darin Adler
Comment 7 2015-06-06 09:58:20 PDT
Comment on attachment 254398 [details] Patch View in context: https://bugs.webkit.org/attachment.cgi?id=254398&action=review >> Source/WebCore/rendering/RenderLayerCompositor.cpp:2476 >> + static uint64_t memSize = ramSize() / 1024 / 1024; > > Please call this ramSizeInMB. If we are going to precompute and cache something, I suggest caching the boolean that indicates whether we should do the special policy. Not as good to instead cache a 64-bit number and keep comparing it against 512 over and over again.
Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.