Bug 141915

Summary: Scopes should always be created with a previously-created symbol table rather than creating one on the fly
Product: WebKit Reporter: Filip Pizlo <fpizlo>
Component: JavaScriptCoreAssignee: Filip Pizlo <fpizlo>
Status: RESOLVED FIXED    
Severity: Normal CC: barraclough, benjamin, commit-queue, ggaren, mark.lam, mhahnenb, mmirman, msaboff, nrotem, oliver, ossy, saam, sam
Priority: P2    
Version: 528+ (Nightly build)   
Hardware: All   
OS: All   
Bug Depends on: 141921, 141953    
Bug Blocks: 141174    
Attachments:
Description Flags
the patch
mark.lam: review+
patch for landing
none
fix 32-bit none

Filip Pizlo
Reported 2015-02-23 10:33:03 PST
Patch forthcoming.
Attachments
the patch (29.45 KB, patch)
2015-02-23 11:41 PST, Filip Pizlo
mark.lam: review+
patch for landing (30.36 KB, patch)
2015-02-23 12:16 PST, Filip Pizlo
no flags
fix 32-bit (31.68 KB, patch)
2015-02-23 12:53 PST, Filip Pizlo
no flags
Filip Pizlo
Comment 1 2015-02-23 10:55:25 PST
Ossy: this will have some new callOperation() overloads in JIT.h. Expect breakage.
Filip Pizlo
Comment 2 2015-02-23 11:27:09 PST
(In reply to comment #1) > Ossy: this will have some new callOperation() overloads in JIT.h. Expect > breakage. Actually, we might get lucky. The new overloads seem to bottom out in existing setupArgumentsXYZ overloads.
Filip Pizlo
Comment 3 2015-02-23 11:41:51 PST
Created attachment 247131 [details] the patch
WebKit Commit Bot
Comment 4 2015-02-23 11:42:51 PST
Attachment 247131 [details] did not pass style-queue: ERROR: Source/JavaScriptCore/runtime/JSNameScope.h:52: The parameter name "symbolTable" adds no information, so it should be removed. [readability/parameter_name] [5] Total errors found: 1 in 20 files If any of these errors are false positives, please file a bug against check-webkit-style.
Mark Lam
Comment 5 2015-02-23 12:00:19 PST
Comment on attachment 247131 [details] the patch View in context: https://bugs.webkit.org/attachment.cgi?id=247131&action=review r=me > Source/JavaScriptCore/jit/JITOperations.cpp:71 > + // FIXME: This won't work if this operation is called from the DFG or FTL. > + // This should be changed to pass in the new scope. I see that this came from pre-existing code, but can you add a debug ASSERT to ensure that the current exec/frame is not a DFG/FTL frame so that we'll catch this if someone unwittingly uses this in the DFG/FTL without seeing this FIXME? > Source/JavaScriptCore/runtime/JSSymbolTableObject.h:64 > + nit: unneeded white space.
Filip Pizlo
Comment 6 2015-02-23 12:05:09 PST
(In reply to comment #5) > Comment on attachment 247131 [details] > the patch > > View in context: > https://bugs.webkit.org/attachment.cgi?id=247131&action=review > > r=me > > > Source/JavaScriptCore/jit/JITOperations.cpp:71 > > + // FIXME: This won't work if this operation is called from the DFG or FTL. > > + // This should be changed to pass in the new scope. > > I see that this came from pre-existing code, but can you add a debug ASSERT > to ensure that the current exec/frame is not a DFG/FTL frame so that we'll > catch this if someone unwittingly uses this in the DFG/FTL without seeing > this FIXME? Sure. > > > Source/JavaScriptCore/runtime/JSSymbolTableObject.h:64 > > + > > nit: unneeded white space. OK.
Filip Pizlo
Comment 7 2015-02-23 12:16:05 PST
Created attachment 247134 [details] patch for landing
Filip Pizlo
Comment 8 2015-02-23 12:53:17 PST
Created attachment 247137 [details] fix 32-bit
Filip Pizlo
Comment 9 2015-02-23 13:54:55 PST
Csaba Osztrogonác
Comment 10 2015-02-23 14:03:30 PST
(In reply to comment #1) > Ossy: this will have some new callOperation() overloads in JIT.h. Expect > breakage. Thanks for the notice, fix landed in http://trac.webkit.org/changeset/180515
Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.