Bug 130133

Summary: [EFL][WK2] Add an API to set process model
Product: WebKit Reporter: Michal Pakula vel Rutka <mpakulavelrutka>
Component: WebKit EFLAssignee: Michal Pakula vel Rutka <mpakulavelrutka>
Status: RESOLVED FIXED    
Severity: Normal CC: bunhere, cdumez, gyuyoung.kim, lucas.de.marchi, m.florek, sergio, webkit-ews
Priority: P2    
Version: 528+ (Nightly build)   
Hardware: Unspecified   
OS: Unspecified   
Bug Depends on:    
Bug Blocks: 110141, 130190    
Attachments:
Description Flags
proposed patch
none
updated documentation gyuyoung.kim: review+

Michal Pakula vel Rutka
Reported 2014-03-12 09:00:16 PDT
Add an API which may be used to enable spawning multiple web processes in WebKit2. Also it enables network process.
Attachments
proposed patch (7.20 KB, patch)
2014-03-12 09:07 PDT, Michal Pakula vel Rutka
no flags
updated documentation (7.23 KB, patch)
2014-03-24 08:10 PDT, Michal Pakula vel Rutka
gyuyoung.kim: review+
Michal Pakula vel Rutka
Comment 1 2014-03-12 09:07:03 PDT
Created attachment 226513 [details] proposed patch
Jinwoo Song
Comment 2 2014-03-13 20:53:26 PDT
Comment on attachment 226513 [details] proposed patch View in context: https://bugs.webkit.org/attachment.cgi?id=226513&action=review > Source/WebKit2/UIProcess/API/efl/ewk_context.h:79 > + * @brief Contains option for process model It would be better to add more description for each process model. > Source/WebKit2/UIProcess/API/efl/tests/test_ewk2_context.cpp:117 > + ASSERT_EQ(EWK_PROCESS_MODEL_SHARED_SECONDARY, ewk_context_process_model_get(context)); Could you add more test for 'EWK_PROCESS_MODEL_MULTIPLE_SECONDARY' model? Also, is there any way to check if the network process is forked successfully?
Maciej Florek
Comment 3 2014-03-14 09:17:45 PDT
(In reply to comment #2) > (From update of attachment 226513 [details]) > View in context: https://bugs.webkit.org/attachment.cgi?id=226513&action=review > > > Source/WebKit2/UIProcess/API/efl/ewk_context.h:79 > > + * @brief Contains option for process model > > It would be better to add more description for each process model. The descriptions of these two options will be extended. > > Source/WebKit2/UIProcess/API/efl/tests/test_ewk2_context.cpp:117 > > + ASSERT_EQ(EWK_PROCESS_MODEL_SHARED_SECONDARY, ewk_context_process_model_get(context)); > > Could you add more test for 'EWK_PROCESS_MODEL_MULTIPLE_SECONDARY' model? We are working on the tests of this API, so they will be added in the beginning of next week. > Also, is there any way to check if the network process is forked successfully? Yes,it is possible to check this.
Michal Pakula vel Rutka
Comment 4 2014-03-24 07:56:01 PDT
(In reply to comment #2) > (From update of attachment 226513 [details]) > View in context: https://bugs.webkit.org/attachment.cgi?id=226513&action=review > > > Source/WebKit2/UIProcess/API/efl/ewk_context.h:79 > > + * @brief Contains option for process model > > It would be better to add more description for each process model. > > > Source/WebKit2/UIProcess/API/efl/tests/test_ewk2_context.cpp:117 > > + ASSERT_EQ(EWK_PROCESS_MODEL_SHARED_SECONDARY, ewk_context_process_model_get(context)); > > Could you add more test for 'EWK_PROCESS_MODEL_MULTIPLE_SECONDARY' model? > Also, is there any way to check if the network process is forked successfully? It is possible but it needs a separate test as process model can be changed only before first WebProcess is spawned.
Michal Pakula vel Rutka
Comment 5 2014-03-24 08:10:00 PDT
Created attachment 227643 [details] updated documentation
Gyuyoung Kim
Comment 6 2014-03-24 16:35:16 PDT
Comment on attachment 227643 [details] updated documentation View in context: https://bugs.webkit.org/attachment.cgi?id=227643&action=review I'm happy now we can select web process model. LGTM except for my trivial comments. Please fix them before landing. > Source/WebKit2/UIProcess/API/efl/ewk_context.h:384 > + * web process. When EWK_PROCESS_MODEL_MULTIPLY_SECONDARY is set a Typo: EWK_PROCESS_MODEL_MULTIPLY_SECONDARY -> EWK_PROCESS_MODEL_MULTIPLE_SECONDARY. I wonder whether current our process model only supports network process. Won't we support database process ?
Gyuyoung Kim
Comment 7 2014-03-24 16:36:33 PDT
Comment on attachment 227643 [details] updated documentation View in context: https://bugs.webkit.org/attachment.cgi?id=227643&action=review > Source/WebKit2/UIProcess/API/efl/ewk_context.h:388 > + * @param context context object to set process model. One more thing. We haven't used "." at the end of @param and @return lines. > Source/WebKit2/UIProcess/API/efl/ewk_context.h:389 > + * @param process_model a #Ewk_Process_Model. ditto. > Source/WebKit2/UIProcess/API/efl/ewk_context.h:396 > + * @param context context object to query. ditto. > Source/WebKit2/UIProcess/API/efl/ewk_context.h:398 > + * @return the process model for the @a context. ditto.
Michal Pakula vel Rutka
Comment 8 2014-03-25 02:30:58 PDT
(In reply to comment #6) > (From update of attachment 227643 [details]) > View in context: https://bugs.webkit.org/attachment.cgi?id=227643&action=review > > I'm happy now we can select web process model. LGTM except for my trivial comments. Please fix them before landing. > > > Source/WebKit2/UIProcess/API/efl/ewk_context.h:384 > > + * web process. When EWK_PROCESS_MODEL_MULTIPLY_SECONDARY is set a > > Typo: EWK_PROCESS_MODEL_MULTIPLY_SECONDARY -> EWK_PROCESS_MODEL_MULTIPLE_SECONDARY. > > I wonder whether current our process model only supports network process. Won't we support database process ? Currently it is only implemented for Mac platform, we need to add missing code and of course enable DATABASE_PROCESS flag.
Michal Pakula vel Rutka
Comment 9 2014-03-25 02:54:08 PDT
Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.