Bug 126604

Summary: Add bots for CLoop build and test
Product: WebKit Reporter: Lucas Forschler <lforschler>
Component: Tools / TestsAssignee: Nobody <webkit-unassigned>
Status: RESOLVED FIXED    
Severity: Normal CC: ggaren, mark.lam, ossy
Priority: P2    
Version: 528+ (Nightly build)   
Hardware: Unspecified   
OS: Unspecified   
Bug Depends on: 136125, 136856    
Bug Blocks:    
Attachments:
Description Flags
patch for review
ggaren: review+
v2 of the CLoop patch none

Description Lucas Forschler 2014-01-07 15:26:27 PST
We need infrastructure for building and testing cloop jsc.
Comment 1 Lucas Forschler 2014-01-07 15:28:26 PST
Created attachment 220557 [details]
patch for review

I'll land this and restart the master myself to make sure things work.
Comment 2 Geoffrey Garen 2014-01-07 15:45:35 PST
Comment on attachment 220557 [details]
patch for review

r=me
Comment 3 Lucas Forschler 2014-01-07 16:23:49 PST
landed in r161461.
follow-up fixes in 161462 and 161463
Comment 4 Csaba Osztrogonác 2014-01-08 08:25:40 PST
Comment on attachment 220557 [details]
patch for review

View in context: https://bugs.webkit.org/attachment.cgi?id=220557&action=review

> Tools/BuildSlaveSupport/build.webkit.org-config/master.cfg:843
> +    LayoutTestClass = RunCLOOPTests

Something is bad here, the bot runs jsc tests twice and without cloop.

http://build.webkit.org/builders/Apple%20Mavericks%20CLOOP%20%28BuildAndTest%29/builds/16
- first run: step 6, perl ./Tools/Scripts/run-javascriptcore-tests --debug (It rebuilds the non cloop JSC!!!)
- second run: step 7, perl ./Tools/Scripts/run-javascriptcore-tests --cloop --no-build --no-jsc-stress --debug

Maybe we should add a JSCTestClass to BuildAndTestFactory and RunCLOOPTests 
(why not RunCLoopTests) could be inherited from RunJavascriptCoreTests and 
simple add the extra --cloop and --no-jsc-stress-test options.

And we could avoid compiling with using None CompileClass with adding
a null check in BuildAndTestFactory for it similar to LayoutTestClass.

(Otherwise many thanks for this cloop bot, it was a very good idea.)
Comment 5 Lucas Forschler 2014-01-08 08:45:47 PST
I also noticed that it's not quite correct.  I'll be restructuring the patch here shortly :)
Comment 6 Lucas Forschler 2014-01-09 20:20:34 PST
Ideally, I'd like this bot to only build jsc with the --cloop option, and then run the tests with the --cloop option.

I'd like it to skip everything else (layout tests, api test, etc)
I'm not sure the best way to structure that.
Comment 7 Csaba Osztrogonác 2014-01-10 06:01:29 PST
(In reply to comment #6)
> Ideally, I'd like this bot to only build jsc with the --cloop option, and then run the tests with the --cloop option.
> 
> I'd like it to skip everything else (layout tests, api test, etc)
> I'm not sure the best way to structure that.

In this case we can skip building the whole WebKit with none CompileClass
and let the run-javascriptcore-tests build jsc. As far as I see, it passes
through the --cloop option to the build-jsc script.

But in this case webkitpy, webkitperl, API tests still run. 
The easiest way is to have an own BuildAndTestOnlyCLoopFactory.
Comment 8 Lucas Forschler 2014-01-13 15:15:57 PST
Created attachment 221082 [details]
v2 of the CLoop patch

This seems fairly simple, hopefully I'm not missing anything obvious.
Comment 9 Lucas Forschler 2014-01-13 23:00:04 PST
http://trac.webkit.org/projects/webkit/changeset/161949
Comment 10 Csaba Osztrogonác 2014-02-13 03:49:52 PST
Comment on attachment 221082 [details]
v2 of the CLoop patch

Cleared review? from attachment 221082 [details] so that this bug does not appear in http://webkit.org/pending-review.  If you would like this patch reviewed, please attach it to a new bug (or re-open this bug before marking it for review again).