Bug 119607

Summary: navigator.plugins has plugins in it when plugins are disabled
Product: WebKit Reporter: Tim Horton <thorton>
Component: Plug-insAssignee: Tim Horton <thorton>
Status: RESOLVED FIXED    
Severity: Normal CC: andersca, ap, beidson, gustavo, mrobinson, sam
Priority: P2 Keywords: InRadar
Version: 528+ (Nightly build)   
Hardware: Unspecified   
OS: Unspecified   
Attachments:
Description Flags
patch andersca: review+

Description Tim Horton 2013-08-08 16:49:52 PDT
... and it shouldn't!

Except it actually should have PDFPlugin in it. But only application plugins.

<rdar://problem/14678030>
Comment 1 Tim Horton 2013-08-08 17:02:38 PDT
Created attachment 208382 [details]
patch
Comment 2 Anders Carlsson 2013-08-08 17:08:07 PDT
Comment on attachment 208382 [details]
patch

View in context: https://bugs.webkit.org/attachment.cgi?id=208382&action=review

> Source/WebKit/mac/WebCoreSupport/WebPlatformStrategies.mm:134
> +    if (Frame* frame = page->mainFrame()) {

I don’t think Page::mainFrame can be null.

> Source/WebKit2/WebProcess/WebCoreSupport/WebPlatformStrategies.cpp:288
> +    if (Frame* frame = page->mainFrame()) {

Ditto.
Comment 3 Tim Horton 2013-08-08 23:44:18 PDT
http://trac.webkit.org/changeset/153877
Comment 4 Gustavo Noronha (kov) 2013-08-10 18:30:18 PDT
This patch seems to have caused a huge regression in the time it takes to create WebViews in GTK, according to my bisection (> 3 seconds when the java plugin is present - eek). It's now scanning all plugins when a new WebView is created, I guess it might be related to the changes to Settings::setPluginsEnabled, but haven't investigated in detail yet.
Comment 5 Tim Horton 2013-08-10 19:42:45 PDT
(In reply to comment #4)
> This patch seems to have caused a huge regression in the time it takes to create WebViews in GTK, according to my bisection (> 3 seconds when the java plugin is present - eek). It's now scanning all plugins when a new WebView is created, I guess it might be related to the changes to Settings::setPluginsEnabled, but haven't investigated in detail yet.

Hmm, we should make it only-refresh-if-you-already-have-cached-data.
Comment 6 Tim Horton 2013-08-10 19:42:57 PDT
(In reply to comment #5)
> (In reply to comment #4)
> > This patch seems to have caused a huge regression in the time it takes to create WebViews in GTK, according to my bisection (> 3 seconds when the java plugin is present - eek). It's now scanning all plugins when a new WebView is created, I guess it might be related to the changes to Settings::setPluginsEnabled, but haven't investigated in detail yet.
> 
> Hmm, we should make it only-refresh-if-you-already-have-cached-data.

Please file another bug and I'll do that.
Comment 7 Gustavo Noronha (kov) 2013-08-11 14:19:06 PDT
Filed https://bugs.webkit.org/show_bug.cgi?id=119665, thanks!