Bug 116229

Summary: [jhbuild] Should remove the sources directory as well when cleaning
Product: WebKit Reporter: Gustavo Noronha (kov) <gns>
Component: New BugsAssignee: Gustavo Noronha (kov) <gns>
Status: RESOLVED FIXED    
Severity: Normal CC: mrobinson, pnormand
Priority: P2    
Version: 528+ (Nightly build)   
Hardware: Unspecified   
OS: Unspecified   
Attachments:
Description Flags
Patch none

Description Gustavo Noronha (kov) 2013-05-16 08:56:53 PDT
[jhbuild] Should remove the sources directory as well when cleaning
Comment 1 Gustavo Noronha (kov) 2013-05-16 08:57:35 PDT
Created attachment 201962 [details]
Patch
Comment 2 Gustavo Noronha (kov) 2013-05-16 08:59:27 PDT
This build failure resulted from jhbuild not noticing the patches applied to a source tree have changed:

https://webkit-queues.appspot.com/results/484327

Although this is arguably a bug in jhbuild, we have suffered problems with builds failing because the clean was not clean enough before, and I couldn't think of a reason why we should not want a full clean rebuild (including checkout and patching) when changing the jhbuild configuration, so this is my proposal.
Comment 3 Martin Robinson 2013-05-16 10:29:43 PDT
Hrm. Isn't it a bit of pain to redownload everything?
Comment 4 Gustavo Noronha (kov) 2013-05-16 10:57:56 PDT
It is indeed, but I think we change the jhbuild modules seldom enough that the reduced complexity pays off.
Comment 5 Martin Robinson 2013-05-16 11:02:12 PDT
Comment on attachment 201962 [details]
Patch

Okay. We can give it a shot and then rework it if there are mobs outside our houses. :)
Comment 6 Gustavo Noronha (kov) 2013-05-16 12:09:32 PDT
Comment on attachment 201962 [details]
Patch

Clearing flags on attachment: 201962

Committed r150198: <http://trac.webkit.org/changeset/150198>
Comment 7 Gustavo Noronha (kov) 2013-05-16 12:09:38 PDT
All reviewed patches have been landed.  Closing bug.
Comment 8 Philippe Normand 2013-05-31 02:28:07 PDT
This is a radical change... Can't we instead make jhbuild smarter? Removing gigabytes of Source/ without even a confirmation prompt was a bad surprise for me this morning...