Bug 107061

Summary: [WK2] Don't use NSApplication run loop in NetworkProcess
Product: WebKit Reporter: Alexey Proskuryakov <ap>
Component: WebKit2Assignee: Alexey Proskuryakov <ap>
Status: RESOLVED FIXED    
Severity: Normal CC: andersca, beidson, cmuppala, sam
Priority: P2    
Version: 528+ (Nightly build)   
Hardware: Unspecified   
OS: Unspecified   
Attachments:
Description Flags
proposed patch andersca: review+

Description Alexey Proskuryakov 2013-01-16 16:05:30 PST
Entering the NSApplication run loop initializes a number of subsystems that we don't need, and thus needs a less strict sandbox than necessary.
Comment 1 Alexey Proskuryakov 2013-01-16 16:09:48 PST
Created attachment 183053 [details]
proposed patch
Comment 2 Anders Carlsson 2013-01-17 10:03:20 PST
Comment on attachment 183053 [details]
proposed patch

View in context: https://bugs.webkit.org/attachment.cgi?id=183053&action=review

> Source/WebCore/platform/mac/RunLoopMac.mm:36
> +void RunLoop::setUseApplicationRunLoopOnMainRunLoop()
> +{
> +    s_useApplicationRunLoopOnMainRunLoop = true;
> +}

Can we assert that the main run loop has not yet been created here?
Comment 3 Alexey Proskuryakov 2013-01-17 10:12:00 PST
Committed <http://trac.webkit.org/changeset/139985>.

> Can we assert that the main run loop has not yet been created here?

Sadly not without some major refactoring, the main run loop is created very early, before we know what kind of process it is.