Bug 91394

Summary: Web Inspector: implement search / replace in source files (behind experiment flag)
Product: WebKit Reporter: Pavel Feldman <pfeldman>
Component: Web Inspector (Deprecated)Assignee: Pavel Feldman <pfeldman>
Status: RESOLVED FIXED    
Severity: Normal CC: apavlov, bweinstein, dglazkov, joepeck, keishi, loislo, pfeldman, pmuellr, rik, timothy, webkit.review.bot, yurys
Priority: P2    
Version: 528+ (Nightly build)   
Hardware: All   
OS: All   
Attachments:
Description Flags
[IMAGE] with patch applied
none
Patch
none
Patch
vsevik: review+, webkit.review.bot: commit-queue-
Archive of layout-test-results from gce-cr-linux-06 none

Pavel Feldman
Reported 2012-07-16 08:18:55 PDT
See image attached.
Attachments
[IMAGE] with patch applied (8.58 KB, image/png)
2012-07-16 08:19 PDT, Pavel Feldman
no flags
Patch (57.48 KB, patch)
2012-07-16 08:36 PDT, Pavel Feldman
no flags
Patch (60.61 KB, patch)
2012-07-17 06:38 PDT, Pavel Feldman
vsevik: review+
webkit.review.bot: commit-queue-
Archive of layout-test-results from gce-cr-linux-06 (292.42 KB, application/zip)
2012-07-17 07:12 PDT, WebKit Review Bot
no flags
Pavel Feldman
Comment 1 2012-07-16 08:19:52 PDT
Created attachment 152537 [details] [IMAGE] with patch applied
Pavel Feldman
Comment 2 2012-07-16 08:36:51 PDT
Vsevolod Vlasov
Comment 3 2012-07-17 04:49:09 PDT
Comment on attachment 152541 [details] Patch View in context: https://bugs.webkit.org/attachment.cgi?id=152541&action=review > Source/WebCore/inspector/front-end/ConsolePanel.js:106 > + jumpToNextSearchResult: function(loop) Please annotate return value. > Source/WebCore/inspector/front-end/ConsolePanel.js:119 > + jumpToPreviousSearchResult: function(loop) Ditto. > Source/WebCore/inspector/front-end/ElementsPanel.js:499 > + jumpToNextSearchResult: function(loop) Ditto. > Source/WebCore/inspector/front-end/ElementsPanel.js:518 > + jumpToPreviousSearchResult: function(loop) Ditto. > Source/WebCore/inspector/front-end/SearchController.js:200 > + this._replaceCheckboxElement.disabled = !panel.canSearchAndReplace() && !enabled; This behavior seems odd to me. Replace check box is currently disabled in two cases: there is no search matches and/or panel does not support replace. In one case user can make it enabled by typing a good search query, in the other it will always stay disabled. I think we can make it always enabled on scripts panel and keep disabled on other panels (for discovery) OR make it hidden on other panels. I would actually like to see both of these changes. The current behavior is also incorrect: 1. type good search query 2. enable replace 3. erase search query Replace checkbox becomes disabled but replace input field and buttons are still shown. > Source/WebCore/inspector/front-end/SearchController.js:331 > + this._performSearch(query, true, false, false); It seems to me that all this loop=false machinery does not work here when replacement does not contain search query. When you press replace while standing on the last search match you run perform search again and it starts from the file start again. I would actually prefer if this feature allowed replacement loop but showed a message when I pass the same line again (not the file start)
Pavel Feldman
Comment 4 2012-07-17 06:35:30 PDT
(In reply to comment #3) > (From update of attachment 152541 [details]) > View in context: https://bugs.webkit.org/attachment.cgi?id=152541&action=review > > > Source/WebCore/inspector/front-end/ConsolePanel.js:106 > > + jumpToNextSearchResult: function(loop) > > Please annotate return value. > Done. > This behavior seems odd to me. Fixed. > It seems to me that all this loop=false machinery does not work here when replacement does not contain search query. Fixed.
Pavel Feldman
Comment 5 2012-07-17 06:38:07 PDT
Vsevolod Vlasov
Comment 6 2012-07-17 07:03:20 PDT
Comment on attachment 152752 [details] Patch View in context: https://bugs.webkit.org/attachment.cgi?id=152752&action=review > Source/WebCore/inspector/front-end/SourceFrame.js:334 > + * @param {boolean} loop Please remove loop from annotations.
WebKit Review Bot
Comment 7 2012-07-17 07:12:44 PDT
Comment on attachment 152752 [details] Patch Attachment 152752 [details] did not pass chromium-ews (chromium-xvfb): Output: http://queues.webkit.org/results/13282149 New failing tests: inspector/extensions/extensions-panel.html
WebKit Review Bot
Comment 8 2012-07-17 07:12:48 PDT
Created attachment 152757 [details] Archive of layout-test-results from gce-cr-linux-06 The attached test failures were seen while running run-webkit-tests on the chromium-ews. Bot: gce-cr-linux-06 Port: <class 'webkitpy.common.config.ports.ChromiumXVFBPort'> Platform: Linux-2.6.39-gcg-201203291735-x86_64-with-Ubuntu-10.04-lucid
Pavel Feldman
Comment 9 2012-07-17 09:32:41 PDT
Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.