Bug 90184

Summary: Web Inspector: Cursor should follow execution line when debugging.
Product: WebKit Reporter: Vsevolod Vlasov <vsevik>
Component: Web Inspector (Deprecated)Assignee: Vsevolod Vlasov <vsevik>
Status: RESOLVED FIXED    
Severity: Normal CC: apavlov, bweinstein, dubroy, joepeck, keishi, loislo, pfeldman, pmuellr, rik, timothy, yurys
Priority: P2    
Version: 528+ (Nightly build)   
Hardware: All   
OS: All   
Attachments:
Description Flags
Patch yurys: review+

Description Vsevolod Vlasov 2012-06-28 09:32:27 PDT
This will allow us to implement "toggle breakpoint" shortcut nicely.
Patch to follow.
Comment 1 Vsevolod Vlasov 2012-06-28 09:52:55 PDT
Created attachment 149964 [details]
Patch
Comment 2 Vsevolod Vlasov 2012-06-29 02:09:26 PDT
Committed r121534: <http://trac.webkit.org/changeset/121534>
Comment 3 Pavel Feldman 2012-06-29 11:29:14 PDT
(In reply to comment #2)
> Committed r121534: <http://trac.webkit.org/changeset/121534>

Does Eclipse's / Idea's / VS's cursor follow execution line? Not sure we need a shortcut for toggling breakpoint, hence not sure we should change behavior for that.
Comment 4 Vsevolod Vlasov 2012-06-29 11:56:36 PDT
(In reply to comment #3)
> (In reply to comment #2)
> > Committed r121534: <http://trac.webkit.org/changeset/121534>
> 
> Does Eclipse's / Idea's / VS's cursor follow execution line? Not sure we need a shortcut for toggling breakpoint, hence not sure we should change behavior for that.
Sure they do. When debugging recently, I found out that the main reason for me to use mouse in devtools is toggling a breakpoint, it seems very natural to me to have such a shortcut.

Often I set breakpoint on some high-level function, then trigger some action on the inspected page and then remove breakpoint and step in until I find low-level function I need and set breakpoint inside it.
Almost all of this could be done without touching mouse.
Imagine you trigger first breakpoint by running some console command - in this case you don't need to touch mouse at all.

I am not insisting on any particular shortcut though.
Comment 5 Pavel Feldman 2012-06-29 21:55:15 PDT
> Often I set breakpoint on some high-level function, then trigger some action on the inspected page and then remove breakpoint and step in until I find low-level function I need and set breakpoint inside it.
> Almost all of this could be done without touching mouse.
> Imagine you trigger first breakpoint by running some console command - in this case you don't need to touch mouse at all.
> 
> I am not insisting on any particular shortcut though.

That all sounds reasonable, but I am not sure it is worth a shortcut. Could you answer the question about similar functionality in other IDEs?
Comment 6 Vsevolod Vlasov 2012-06-29 23:27:02 PDT
(In reply to comment #5)
> > Often I set breakpoint on some high-level function, then trigger some action on the inspected page and then remove breakpoint and step in until I find low-level function I need and set breakpoint inside it.
> > Almost all of this could be done without touching mouse.
> > Imagine you trigger first breakpoint by running some console command - in this case you don't need to touch mouse at all.
> > 
> > I am not insisting on any particular shortcut though.
> 
> That all sounds reasonable, but I am not sure it is worth a shortcut. Could you answer the question about similar functionality in other IDEs?

I thought I already did. This functionality is supported by all IDE you mentioned.
Comment 7 Pavel Feldman 2012-06-29 23:36:32 PDT
> > That all sounds reasonable, but I am not sure it is worth a shortcut. Could you answer the question about similar functionality in other IDEs?
> 
> I thought I already did. This functionality is supported by all IDE you mentioned.

This looks great then, thank you!
Comment 8 dubroy 2012-06-30 02:00:09 PDT
Definitely seems reasonable to me. VS and Eclipse behave this way, and staying consistent with them seems like a good idea.