Bug 88581

Summary: webkit-patch rebaseline-expectations should only rebaseline the appropriate suffixes for the failure in question
Product: WebKit Reporter: Dirk Pranke <dpranke>
Component: Tools / TestsAssignee: Dirk Pranke <dpranke>
Status: RESOLVED FIXED    
Severity: Normal CC: abarth, dglazkov, epoger, ojan, rniwa, webkit.review.bot
Priority: P2    
Version: 528+ (Nightly build)   
Hardware: Unspecified   
OS: Unspecified   
Attachments:
Description Flags
Patch
none
command-lines I ran to rebaseline a single image test
none
Patch
none
log of re-running previous commands with patch in place none

Dirk Pranke
Reported 2012-06-07 15:10:44 PDT
currently rebaseline-expectations will rebaseline 'txt' files even if the failure is only listed as IMAGE. This can result in stale files getting pulled from the bot. We need to limit to the appropriate suffixes just like we do in garden-o-matic. See bug 88561 for one instance where this wreaked havoc.
Attachments
Patch (16.61 KB, patch)
2012-06-07 15:26 PDT, Dirk Pranke
no flags
command-lines I ran to rebaseline a single image test (11.38 KB, text/plain)
2012-06-14 14:32 PDT, Elliot Poger
no flags
Patch (4.79 KB, patch)
2012-06-14 16:13 PDT, Dirk Pranke
no flags
log of re-running previous commands with patch in place (3.98 KB, text/plain)
2012-06-15 07:15 PDT, Elliot Poger
no flags
Dirk Pranke
Comment 1 2012-06-07 15:26:34 PDT
Ojan Vafai
Comment 2 2012-06-07 15:36:54 PDT
Comment on attachment 146399 [details] Patch View in context: https://bugs.webkit.org/attachment.cgi?id=146399&action=review Thanks for the quick fix! > Tools/Scripts/webkitpy/layout_tests/models/test_expectations.py:88 > +# FIXME: Perhas these two routines should be part of the Port instead? s/Perhas/Perhaps. I doubt these will end up being port-specific. The platform identifies might though. Either way, no harm in having a FIXME. > Tools/Scripts/webkitpy/tool/commands/rebaseline.py:289 > + self._run_webkit_patch(['rebaseline-test', '--suffixes', ','.join(suffixes), builder_name, test_name]) Maybe add a FIXME to use run_in_parallel here?
Dirk Pranke
Comment 3 2012-06-07 16:03:32 PDT
(In reply to comment #2) > (From update of attachment 146399 [details]) > View in context: https://bugs.webkit.org/attachment.cgi?id=146399&action=review > > Thanks for the quick fix! > > > Tools/Scripts/webkitpy/layout_tests/models/test_expectations.py:88 > > +# FIXME: Perhas these two routines should be part of the Port instead? > > s/Perhas/Perhaps. I doubt these will end up being port-specific. The platform identifies might though. Either way, no harm in having a FIXME. > Yeah. > > Tools/Scripts/webkitpy/tool/commands/rebaseline.py:289 > > + self._run_webkit_patch(['rebaseline-test', '--suffixes', ','.join(suffixes), builder_name, test_name]) > > Maybe add a FIXME to use run_in_parallel here? Oh, good idea.
Dirk Pranke
Comment 4 2012-06-07 16:10:37 PDT
Elliot Poger
Comment 5 2012-06-11 07:11:12 PDT
*** Bug 88561 has been marked as a duplicate of this bug. ***
Elliot Poger
Comment 6 2012-06-14 14:32:16 PDT
Created attachment 147655 [details] command-lines I ran to rebaseline a single image test I don't think this bug is fixed. I tried to rebaseline a single IMAGE failure (on Windows only) using webkit-patch rebaseline-expectations, and I ended up with all these changes: $ svn status A LayoutTests/platform/qt/fast/gradients/background-clipped-expected.txt D LayoutTests/platform/gtk/fast/gradients/background-clipped-expected.txt D LayoutTests/platform/mac/fast/gradients/background-clipped-expected.txt D LayoutTests/platform/chromium-mac-snowleopard/fast/gradients/background-clipped-expected.txt D LayoutTests/platform/chromium-mac/fast/gradients/background-clipped-expected.txt D LayoutTests/platform/chromium-mac-leopard/fast/gradients/background-clipped-expected.txt D LayoutTests/platform/efl/fast/gradients/background-clipped-expected.txt M LayoutTests/platform/chromium-win/fast/gradients/background-clipped-expected.png R LayoutTests/fast/gradients/background-clipped-expected.txt Much more detail in the attached log.
Elliot Poger
Comment 7 2012-06-14 14:33:03 PDT
See above comment/attachment. Am I doing something wrong?
Ojan Vafai
Comment 8 2012-06-14 15:25:09 PDT
This is not necessarily a bug. Rebaseline-expectations rebaselines and then calls optimize-baselines. If you just call optimize-baselines for that test on a clean tree do you get the same text file changes? If so, then it's probably still correct.
Dirk Pranke
Comment 9 2012-06-14 16:00:09 PDT
(In reply to comment #8) > This is not necessarily a bug. Rebaseline-expectations rebaselines and then calls optimize-baselines. If you just call optimize-baselines for that test on a clean tree do you get the same text file changes? If so, then it's probably still correct. Ojan is correct that we're optimizing everything even though we only rebaselined the IMAGE, and optimize is working as expected. rebaseline-expectations isn't actually passing the appropriate suffix list to optimize, though, and it probably should, just to reduce confusion.
Dirk Pranke
Comment 10 2012-06-14 16:13:48 PDT
Elliot Poger
Comment 11 2012-06-15 07:15:31 PDT
Created attachment 147807 [details] log of re-running previous commands with patch in place Yup, that patch fixes it! (See attached output.) Thanks! I will hit commit+ ...
WebKit Review Bot
Comment 12 2012-06-15 07:22:31 PDT
Comment on attachment 147673 [details] Patch Clearing flags on attachment: 147673 Committed r120454: <http://trac.webkit.org/changeset/120454>
WebKit Review Bot
Comment 13 2012-06-15 07:22:36 PDT
All reviewed patches have been landed. Closing bug.
Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.