Bug 75274

Summary: Enable the [Supplemental] IDL on Qt
Product: WebKit Reporter: Kentaro Hara <haraken>
Component: WebKit QtAssignee: Kentaro Hara <haraken>
Status: RESOLVED FIXED    
Severity: Normal CC: abarth, menard, vestbo, webkit.review.bot
Priority: P2    
Version: 528+ (Nightly build)   
Hardware: Unspecified   
OS: Unspecified   
Bug Depends on:    
Bug Blocks: 72138    
Attachments:
Description Flags
WIP patch to see if build passes none

Description Kentaro Hara 2011-12-27 15:50:19 PST
We have enabled the [Supplemental] IDL on Chromium, AppleWebKit and GTK, and are planning to enable it on all build systems (Meta bug 72138). In this bug, we enable it on Qt.
Comment 1 Kentaro Hara 2011-12-28 08:04:56 PST
Created attachment 120670 [details]
WIP patch to see if build passes
Comment 2 Kentaro Hara 2011-12-28 08:54:23 PST
Comment on attachment 120670 [details]
WIP patch to see if build passes

View in context: https://bugs.webkit.org/attachment.cgi?id=120670&action=review

> Source/WebCore/DerivedSources.pri:662
> +resolveSupplemental.commands = echo $(addprefix $${ROOT_WEBKIT_DIR}/Source/WebCore/, $$IDL_BINDINGS) | sed \'s/\\s/\\n/g\' > $$IDL_FILES_TMP && \

I am a bit afraid if the echo arguments exceed the OS limit on Qt/Mac and Qt/Win, although it passes Qt/Linux build. In AppleWebKit and Gtk, we have explicitly avoided this issue by $(foreach...) trick (See the patch of bug 74972), but it appears that qmake does not have $(foreach...) or something like that.

That being said, I found much longer arguments when Qt links libwebcore.a at the final stage. So the echo arguments might not become a problem.
Comment 3 Adam Barth 2011-12-28 09:50:50 PST
Comment on attachment 120670 [details]
WIP patch to see if build passes

View in context: https://bugs.webkit.org/attachment.cgi?id=120670&action=review

>> Source/WebCore/DerivedSources.pri:662
>> +resolveSupplemental.commands = echo $(addprefix $${ROOT_WEBKIT_DIR}/Source/WebCore/, $$IDL_BINDINGS) | sed \'s/\\s/\\n/g\' > $$IDL_FILES_TMP && \
> 
> I am a bit afraid if the echo arguments exceed the OS limit on Qt/Mac and Qt/Win, although it passes Qt/Linux build. In AppleWebKit and Gtk, we have explicitly avoided this issue by $(foreach...) trick (See the patch of bug 74972), but it appears that qmake does not have $(foreach...) or something like that.
> 
> That being said, I found much longer arguments when Qt links libwebcore.a at the final stage. So the echo arguments might not become a problem.

You'll probably want to check with some Qt folks after this lands to make sure its ok.
Comment 4 WebKit Review Bot 2011-12-28 15:31:05 PST
Comment on attachment 120670 [details]
WIP patch to see if build passes

Clearing flags on attachment: 120670

Committed r103783: <http://trac.webkit.org/changeset/103783>
Comment 5 WebKit Review Bot 2011-12-28 15:31:10 PST
All reviewed patches have been landed.  Closing bug.
Comment 6 Alexis Menard (darktears) 2011-12-29 12:34:54 PST
Committed r103817: <http://trac.webkit.org/changeset/103817>