Bug 68596

Summary: [Qt] 11 tests failed after r95671 because the tests are updated.
Product: WebKit Reporter: Oliver Varga <voliver>
Component: Tools / TestsAssignee: Nobody <webkit-unassigned>
Status: RESOLVED FIXED    
Severity: Normal CC: inferno, loki, ossy
Priority: P2    
Version: 528+ (Nightly build)   
Hardware: Unspecified   
OS: Unspecified   

Description Oliver Varga 2011-09-22 00:18:37 PDT
There are 3 failed tests after r95671:
LayoutTests/fast/css-generated-content/table-cellbefore-content.html
LayoutTests/fast/js/function-apply. html
LayoutTests/fast/table/table-cell-after-child-in-block.html
LayoutTests/fast/table/table-cell-before-after-content-around-table-block. html
LayoutTests/fast/table/table-cell-before-after-content-around-table. html
LayoutTests/fast/table/table-cell-before-child-in-block. html
LayoutTests/fast/table/table-row-after-child-in-block. html
LayoutTests/fast/table/table-row-before-after-content-around-block. html
LayoutTests/fast/table/table-row-before-after-content-around-table. html
LayoutTests/fast/table/table-row-before-child-in-block. html
LayoutTests/fast/table/table-row-style-not-updated-with-after-content.html
Comment 1 Oliver Varga 2011-09-22 02:41:53 PDT
After the bad skippelist 2 patches landed:
http://trac.webkit.org/changeset/95701
http://trac.webkit.org/changeset/95702
Comment 2 Abhishek Arya 2011-09-22 10:12:26 PDT
LayoutTests/fast/js/function-apply.html is not my fault.

For all others, can anyone in the qt team help to rebaseline. webkit-patch rebaseline is driving me nuts since it always puts the results in the main dir and not the platform/qt directory. So, for lots of rendering changes, i always have to move files manually one by one.
Comment 3 Csaba Osztrogon√°c 2011-09-22 13:16:58 PDT
(In reply to comment #2)
> LayoutTests/fast/js/function-apply.html is not my fault.
Agree.
 
> For all others, can anyone in the qt team help to rebaseline. webkit-patch rebaseline is driving me nuts since it always puts the results in the main dir and not the platform/qt directory. So, for lots of rendering changes, i always have to move files manually one by one.

I fixed it, but I missed to close this bug. Updates landed in http://trac.webkit.org/changeset/95704
Comment 4 Abhishek Arya 2011-09-22 13:18:08 PDT
(In reply to comment #3)
> (In reply to comment #2)
> > LayoutTests/fast/js/function-apply.html is not my fault.
> Agree.
> 
> > For all others, can anyone in the qt team help to rebaseline. webkit-patch rebaseline is driving me nuts since it always puts the results in the main dir and not the platform/qt directory. So, for lots of rendering changes, i always have to move files manually one by one.
> 
> I fixed it, but I missed to close this bug. Updates landed in http://trac.webkit.org/changeset/95704

Thanks a lot Ossy, really appreciate your help.