Bug 66550

Summary: [CSS Regions] Test absolute positioning of an element inside a CSS region
Product: WebKit Reporter: Razvan Caliman <rcaliman>
Component: CSSAssignee: Razvan Caliman <rcaliman>
Status: RESOLVED FIXED    
Severity: Normal CC: donggwan.kim, mibalan, mihnea, rcaliman, shanestephens, tony, WebkitBugTracker, webkit.review.bot
Priority: P2 Keywords: AdobeTracked
Version: 528+ (Nightly build)   
Hardware: All   
OS: All   
URL: http://www.w3.org/TR/css3-regions/#positioned-flow0
Bug Depends on:    
Bug Blocks: 57312    
Attachments:
Description Flags
Patch
tony: review-
Patch
tony: review-
Patch
none
Patch tony: review+, webkit.review.bot: commit-queue-

Description Razvan Caliman 2011-08-19 05:52:18 PDT
Test that, according to the CSS Regions Module, absolutely positioned elements from a flow respect the initial containing block defined by the first region in the region chain.
Comment 1 Razvan Caliman 2011-08-19 06:04:59 PDT
Created attachment 104496 [details]
Patch
Comment 2 Tony Chang 2011-08-19 10:10:44 PDT
Comment on attachment 104496 [details]
Patch

View in context: https://bugs.webkit.org/attachment.cgi?id=104496&action=review

> LayoutTests/fast/regions/hit-test-absolute-position.html:42
> +        var hitElement = document.elementFromPoint(270, 330);

The coordinates of the box seems unreliable because of the text at the top of the page.  E.g., other platforms may have different font size or spacing causing the box to be positioned higher or lower.

I would either compute the location of the 'region' div via javascript (you will find many existing tests that use eventSender.mouse* functions that do this) or put the text below the region div.
Comment 3 Razvan Caliman 2011-08-22 07:56:29 PDT
Created attachment 104680 [details]
Patch

Thank you, Tony!
I have updated the test to place the tested elements before the descriptive text. I also added a css reset for margins for good measure.

Mihnea, if you could also have a look, I appreciate it.
Comment 4 Tony Chang 2011-08-22 12:04:00 PDT
Comment on attachment 104680 [details]
Patch

View in context: https://bugs.webkit.org/attachment.cgi?id=104680&action=review

> LayoutTests/platform/mac-snowleopard/fast/regions/hit-test-absolute-position-expected.txt:2
> +PASS
> +Test that absolutely positioned elements inside a flow respect the initial containing block defined by the first region.

You don't need this file since it's the same as LayoutTests/fast/regions/hit-test-absolute-position-expected.txt.
Comment 5 Razvan Caliman 2011-08-23 08:32:57 PDT
Created attachment 104849 [details]
Patch

I have reworked the patch and removed the platform-specific test files.
Comment 6 WebKit Review Bot 2011-08-23 08:36:09 PDT
Attachment 104849 [details] did not pass style-queue:

Failed to run "['Tools/Scripts/check-webkit-style', '--diff-files', u'LayoutTests/ChangeLog', u'LayoutTests/fast..." exit_code: 1

LayoutTests/ChangeLog:1:  ChangeLog entry has no bug number  [changelog/bugnumber] [5]
Total errors found: 1 in 3 files


If any of these errors are false positives, please file a bug against check-webkit-style.
Comment 7 Razvan Caliman 2011-08-23 08:49:37 PDT
Created attachment 104852 [details]
Patch

Fixed the patch by removing the platform-specific baseline. With correct ChangeLog entry this time.
Comment 8 Tony Chang 2012-02-22 11:34:34 PST
Comment on attachment 104852 [details]
Patch

Sorry for the slow review.
Comment 9 WebKit Review Bot 2012-02-22 12:34:04 PST
Comment on attachment 104852 [details]
Patch

Rejecting attachment 104852 [details] from commit-queue.

New failing tests:
fast/regions/hit-test-absolute-position.html
Full output: http://queues.webkit.org/results/11569121
Comment 10 Tony Chang 2012-02-22 13:10:28 PST
(In reply to comment #9)
> (From update of attachment 104852 [details])
> Rejecting attachment 104852 [details] from commit-queue.
> 
> New failing tests:
> fast/regions/hit-test-absolute-position.html
> Full output: http://queues.webkit.org/results/11569121

Oh, this might be because of the recent work to make regions runtime switchable?
Comment 11 Mihai Balan 2013-03-07 06:05:02 PST
There are already some tests for this, like those for the bug 88133 and others.

Closing as Resolved/Fixed.