Bug 63922

Summary: document.all & document.activeElement undefined in xhtml page
Product: WebKit Reporter: shuchen.net
Component: DOMAssignee: Nobody <webkit-unassigned>
Status: NEW ---    
Severity: Normal CC: 7raivis, ap, bedney, dominicc, fddima, solushex, sonny.piers
Priority: P2    
Version: 528+ (Nightly build)   
Hardware: All   
OS: All   

Description shuchen.net 2011-07-05 00:31:46 PDT
1. Visit the xhtml page at http://www.battlenet.com.cn/ or http://inputtools.appspot.com/main.py
2. In the address bar, type: "javascript:alert(document.activeElement);"

Expected:
The alert dialog tells document.activeElement is not undefined.

Actual:
The alert dialog tells "undefined".
Comment 1 Dominic Cooney 2011-07-05 03:12:17 PDT
document.activeElement and document.all are defined on HTML documents, see for example:

<http://www.whatwg.org/specs/web-apps/current-work/#dom-document-activeelement>
<http://www.whatwg.org/specs/web-apps/current-work/#dom-document-all>

XHTML documents are not HTML documents (open the web inspector on one of those pages and look at document.constructor, for example, and compare it with the document.constructor of a HTML page such as this one.)

So I think it is correct for document.activeElement and document.all to be undefined in an XHTML page.
Comment 2 Alexey Proskuryakov 2011-07-05 10:50:20 PDT
This is incorrect.

All documents in an HTML5 compliant engine must implement HTMLDocument interface, see <http://www.whatwg.org/specs/web-apps/current-work/#documents-in-the-dom>.
Comment 3 Dmitry Azaraev 2011-11-17 04:28:47 PST
I agree with Alexey.
Even more - now activeElement it is part of partial Document interface.
And it is blocker for custom UI toolkits to use XHTML instead of HTML.
Comment 4 sonny.piers@gmail.com 2012-07-04 05:33:41 PDT
Any update on this?
Comment 5 William J. Edney 2012-10-04 07:08:09 PDT
XHTML5 is the XML formulation of HTML5 and is being used out there.

It'd be nice to get this fixed. Anything I can do to help? (I'm not a C programmer, but I can write tests, etc.).

Cheers,

- Bill
Comment 6 sonny.piers@gmail.com 2013-04-27 11:20:46 PDT
Same problem with window.hasFocus().