Bug 54315

Summary: [chromium] Update texture for ContentLayerChromiums in draw() call instead of updateContents..() call
Product: WebKit Reporter: James Robinson <jamesr>
Component: New BugsAssignee: James Robinson <jamesr>
Status: RESOLVED FIXED    
Severity: Normal CC: dglazkov, enne, kbr, nduca, piman, vangelis, webkit.review.bot
Priority: P2    
Version: 528+ (Nightly build)   
Hardware: Other   
OS: OS X 10.5   
Bug Depends on:    
Bug Blocks: 54047    
Attachments:
Description Flags
Patch
none
Patch
none
Patch
none
Patch
none
add check in unreserveContentsTexture() to match the one in bindContentsTexture()
none
fixes mac compile, adds helper for bitmap locking/unlocking
none
Patch
none
Patch kbr: review+

James Robinson
Reported 2011-02-11 14:57:18 PST
[chromium] Update texture for ContentLayerChromiums in draw() call instead of updateContents..() call
Attachments
Patch (17.24 KB, patch)
2011-02-11 14:59 PST, James Robinson
no flags
Patch (17.42 KB, patch)
2011-02-11 15:06 PST, James Robinson
no flags
Patch (22.42 KB, patch)
2011-02-15 18:37 PST, James Robinson
no flags
Patch (22.46 KB, patch)
2011-02-15 19:17 PST, James Robinson
no flags
add check in unreserveContentsTexture() to match the one in bindContentsTexture() (22.62 KB, patch)
2011-02-15 19:25 PST, James Robinson
no flags
fixes mac compile, adds helper for bitmap locking/unlocking (23.22 KB, patch)
2011-02-16 17:56 PST, James Robinson
no flags
Patch (23.54 KB, patch)
2011-02-17 15:04 PST, James Robinson
no flags
Patch (23.74 KB, patch)
2011-02-17 15:12 PST, James Robinson
kbr: review+
James Robinson
Comment 1 2011-02-11 14:59:04 PST
WebKit Review Bot
Comment 2 2011-02-11 15:02:11 PST
James Robinson
Comment 3 2011-02-11 15:06:13 PST
Kenneth Russell
Comment 4 2011-02-11 18:04:03 PST
Comment on attachment 82188 [details] Patch View in context: https://bugs.webkit.org/attachment.cgi?id=82188&action=review > Source/WebCore/platform/graphics/chromium/ContentLayerChromium.cpp:299 > + SkAutoLockPixels lock(bitmap); > + // FIXME: do we need to support more image configurations? > + if (bitmap.config() == SkBitmap::kARGB_8888_Config) > + pixels = bitmap.getPixels(); This looks unsafe. The SkAutoLockPixels goes out of scope here but pixels is used later.
James Robinson
Comment 5 2011-02-14 18:41:04 PST
Good catch, that is unsafe. Vangelis pointed out some other issues with this patch offline - I'll try to update this soon.
James Robinson
Comment 6 2011-02-15 18:37:31 PST
James Robinson
Comment 7 2011-02-15 19:17:18 PST
James Robinson
Comment 8 2011-02-15 19:24:07 PST
The general idea is that ContentLayerChromium::updateContentsIfNeeded() updates the software backing bitmap (which is a skia::PlatformCanvas for content layers on windows+linux and a Vector<uint8_t> for content layers on mac + image layers on all platforms) and sets the m_updateUpdateRect to the portion of the texture that needs an update. The actual texture upload happens in updateTextureRectIfNeeded() which is called by draw() (for normal layers) and in bindContentsTexture() (needed for mask layers which don't draw themselves). The upload function checks if the backing texture is available and uploads either the dirty rect or the entire texture as needed. I've also added a check for m_skipsDraw in bindContentsTexture() so we don't attempt to bind textures as masks for layers that we can't render.
James Robinson
Comment 9 2011-02-15 19:25:18 PST
Created attachment 82573 [details] add check in unreserveContentsTexture() to match the one in bindContentsTexture()
WebKit Review Bot
Comment 10 2011-02-15 23:05:26 PST
Kenneth Russell
Comment 11 2011-02-16 13:55:13 PST
Comment on attachment 82573 [details] add check in unreserveContentsTexture() to match the one in bindContentsTexture() View in context: https://bugs.webkit.org/attachment.cgi?id=82573&action=review This looks good to me. One further comment about safety of locking and unlocking the bitmap. You might want to add a simple file-local class which only conditionally unlocks the pixels in its destructor. Let me know if you'd like me to r+ this version or want to fix the Mac compilation failure first. > Source/WebCore/platform/graphics/chromium/ContentLayerChromium.cpp:335 > return; I think we'd need to potentially unlock the bitmap's pixels here. > Source/WebCore/platform/graphics/chromium/ContentLayerChromium.cpp:347 > + ptrdiff_t srcOffset = (m_uploadUpdateRect.y() + row) * srcStride + m_uploadUpdateRect.x() * 4; > + ptrdiff_t destOffset = row * destStride; Might be useful to have some assertions here to make sure the copies don't go out of bounds.
James Robinson
Comment 12 2011-02-16 14:17:24 PST
Thanks for looking! I'll figure out the compile error on mac and update the patch.
James Robinson
Comment 13 2011-02-16 17:56:01 PST
Created attachment 82730 [details] fixes mac compile, adds helper for bitmap locking/unlocking
Vangelis Kokkevis
Comment 14 2011-02-17 00:13:24 PST
Comment on attachment 82730 [details] fixes mac compile, adds helper for bitmap locking/unlocking View in context: https://bugs.webkit.org/attachment.cgi?id=82730&action=review > Source/WebCore/platform/graphics/chromium/ContentLayerChromium.cpp:311 > + SkBitmapConditionalAutoLockerPixels() Can't you use Skia's SkAutoLockPixels ? > Source/WebCore/platform/graphics/chromium/ContentLayerChromium.cpp:333 > +void ContentLayerChromium::updateTextureRectIfNeeded() nit: rename to updateTextureIfNeeded() since you don't pass a rect to the function anymore? > Source/WebCore/platform/graphics/chromium/ContentLayerChromium.cpp:370 > + Vector<uint8_t> uploadBuffer(m_uploadUpdateRect.height() * destStride); In the presumably common case where your uploadUpdateRect has the same dimensions as your texture (full layer invalidate), you could avoid copying to the uploadBuffer and do the texSubImage2D call directly from the pixel data.
James Robinson
Comment 15 2011-02-17 14:49:22 PST
(In reply to comment #14) > (From update of attachment 82730 [details]) > View in context: https://bugs.webkit.org/attachment.cgi?id=82730&action=review > > > Source/WebCore/platform/graphics/chromium/ContentLayerChromium.cpp:311 > > + SkBitmapConditionalAutoLockerPixels() > > Can't you use Skia's SkAutoLockPixels ? The problem is I have to have the SkBitmap when constructing the SkAutoLockPixels and I couldn't get the blocks to line up nicely with that constraint. This helper lets me lock the pixels whenever and ensures that there's an unlock made before the function returns no matter when the lock happens. > > > Source/WebCore/platform/graphics/chromium/ContentLayerChromium.cpp:333 > > +void ContentLayerChromium::updateTextureRectIfNeeded() > > nit: rename to updateTextureIfNeeded() since you don't pass a rect to the function anymore? good idea, will do > > > Source/WebCore/platform/graphics/chromium/ContentLayerChromium.cpp:370 > > + Vector<uint8_t> uploadBuffer(m_uploadUpdateRect.height() * destStride); > > In the presumably common case where your uploadUpdateRect has the same dimensions as your texture (full layer invalidate), you could avoid copying to the uploadBuffer and do the texSubImage2D call directly from the pixel data. also a good idea - should be easy to do.
James Robinson
Comment 16 2011-02-17 15:04:26 PST
James Robinson
Comment 17 2011-02-17 15:12:05 PST
James Robinson
Comment 18 2011-02-17 15:25:39 PST
This avoids allocating an extra upload bitmap if the upload region's stride matches the texture and adds some assertions to try to keep the offsets from going out of bounds.
Kenneth Russell
Comment 19 2011-02-17 16:52:22 PST
Vangelis, can you please do the unofficial review of this patch?
Vangelis Kokkevis
Comment 20 2011-02-17 22:47:41 PST
Comment on attachment 82868 [details] Patch View in context: https://bugs.webkit.org/attachment.cgi?id=82868&action=review unofficial r+ from me > Source/WebCore/platform/graphics/chromium/ImageLayerChromium.cpp:102 > + if (m_uploadBufferSize != bitmapSize) { nit: per webkit style, you shouldn't be using braces here.
Kenneth Russell
Comment 21 2011-02-18 12:00:45 PST
Comment on attachment 82868 [details] Patch Looks good to me.
James Robinson
Comment 22 2011-02-18 14:18:19 PST
Antoine Labour
Comment 23 2011-03-02 16:54:22 PST
View in context: https://bugs.webkit.org/attachment.cgi?id=82868&action=review > Source/WebCore/platform/graphics/chromium/ContentLayerChromium.cpp:375 > + uint8_t* uploadPixels = pixels + srcStride * m_uploadUpdateRect.x(); Shouldn't this be something like pixels + srcStride * m_uploadUpdateRect.y() + 4*m_uploadUpdateRect.x() instead ? I'm getting a crash in glTexSubImage2D where the pixels argument points out of memory.
James Robinson
Comment 24 2011-03-02 16:57:33 PST
(In reply to comment #23) > View in context: https://bugs.webkit.org/attachment.cgi?id=82868&action=review > > > Source/WebCore/platform/graphics/chromium/ContentLayerChromium.cpp:375 > > + uint8_t* uploadPixels = pixels + srcStride * m_uploadUpdateRect.x(); > > Shouldn't this be something like pixels + srcStride * m_uploadUpdateRect.y() + 4*m_uploadUpdateRect.x() instead ? > > I'm getting a crash in glTexSubImage2D where the pixels argument points out of memory. Good point - this math is totally wrong for non-zero x(). Yikes. What's the case that fails? Our testing is obviously insufficient.
Antoine Labour
Comment 25 2011-03-02 17:10:05 PST
I don't have an exact repro case... I was tracking something else and selection on the page was causing garbage to be painted, and then it crashed into the debugger which let me debug it. I'll update the bug if I have clear repro steps.
James Robinson
Comment 26 2011-03-02 17:19:20 PST
Actually, if there's an x offset to the upload rect then the strides won't match and should fall into the row-by-row copy path which seems OK. This code would be wrong if there was a non-zero y offset, but I think in that case it'd be more likely that it would upload pixels at the wrong offset rather than pure garbage. I need to take a closer look.
Adrienne Walker
Comment 27 2011-03-03 10:52:44 PST
(In reply to comment #26) > Actually, if there's an x offset to the upload rect then the strides won't match and should fall into the row-by-row copy path which seems OK. > > This code would be wrong if there was a non-zero y offset, but I think in that case it'd be more likely that it would upload pixels at the wrong offset rather than pure garbage. I need to take a closer look. For what it's worth, I'm in the middle of refactoring/removing that code to use the row-by-row copy logic in LayerTilerChromium.cpp instead. (Oh, duplicated logic.) I wouldn't spend too much time investigating. Also, selecting something on the page and causing garbage could be due to https://bugs.webkit.org/show_bug.cgi?id=55679 if you're running a webkit revision after r80081.
Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.