Bug 48790

Summary: new-run-webkit-tests: use DRT, child-processes=1 for GPU tests by default
Product: WebKit Reporter: Dirk Pranke <dpranke>
Component: New BugsAssignee: Dirk Pranke <dpranke>
Status: RESOLVED FIXED    
Severity: Normal CC: jamesr, kbr, tony
Priority: P2    
Version: 528+ (Nightly build)   
Hardware: Other   
OS: OS X 10.5   
Attachments:
Description Flags
Patch jamesr: review+

Description Dirk Pranke 2010-11-01 15:31:55 PDT
new-run-webkit-tests: use DRT, child-processes=1 for GPU tests by default
Comment 1 Dirk Pranke 2010-11-01 15:32:35 PDT
Created attachment 72575 [details]
Patch
Comment 2 James Robinson 2010-11-01 15:36:39 PDT
Comment on attachment 72575 [details]
Patch

Okie
Comment 3 Dirk Pranke 2010-11-01 16:01:17 PDT
Committed r71068: <http://trac.webkit.org/changeset/71068>
Comment 4 James Robinson 2011-02-18 17:31:20 PST
I don't remember why we did this - do we still need to limit this?  It makes the tests a lot slower and since we're doing everything in software now by default it seems like there's no reason to serialize the tests in the default config.  Running with --child-processes=16 on my linux z600 results in the tests running a little better than 2x faster.
Comment 5 Dirk Pranke 2011-02-18 17:44:29 PST
Two different issues ... 1) we have to use DRT, because TestShell didn't have the code paths, and it's gone now anyway. 

As to --child-processes=1, I know the tests were flaky before w/o it. I've been meaning to check w/ Ken or someone to see if we still needed it, but if we don't, feel free to post a patch dropping the restrictions (and/or I will get around to trying it eventually and doing so myself).
Comment 6 James Robinson 2011-02-18 17:47:08 PST
I'll ask the trybots if a higher process count is still flaky.