Bug 44537

Summary: WebKit2 should launch the WebProcess in 32-bit mode if the UIProcess is in 32-bit mode
Product: WebKit Reporter: Sam Weinig <sam>
Component: WebKit2Assignee: Nobody <webkit-unassigned>
Status: RESOLVED FIXED    
Severity: Normal Keywords: InRadar
Priority: P2    
Version: 528+ (Nightly build)   
Hardware: PC   
OS: OS X 10.5   
Attachments:
Description Flags
Patch mrowe: review+

Description Sam Weinig 2010-08-24 10:53:25 PDT
WebKit2 should launch the WebProcess in 32-bit mode if the UIProcess is in 32-bit mode
Comment 1 Sam Weinig 2010-08-24 10:53:59 PDT
<rdar://problem/8348100>
Comment 2 Sam Weinig 2010-08-24 19:47:18 PDT
Created attachment 65362 [details]
Patch
Comment 3 Mark Rowe (bdash) 2010-08-24 20:05:20 PDT
Comment on attachment 65362 [details]
Patch

> +
> +    posix_spawnattr_t attr;
> +    posix_spawnattr_init(&attr);
> +
> +#if CPU(X86)
> +    // We spawn a 32-bit child process if the host is 32-bit. This allows checking
> +    // the "Open in 32-bit mode" check box in the finder and getting a 32-bit WebProcess.

I don’t like the way this comment is worded.  It would be better to say something about having the child process run as the same architecture as the parent process.  The Finder in particular isn’t all that interesting here.

> +    cpu_type_t cpuTypes[] = { CPU_TYPE_X86 };    
> +#else
> +    cpu_type_t cpuTypes[] = { CPU_TYPE_ANY };
> +#endif
> +    size_t outCount = 0;
> +    posix_spawnattr_setbinpref_np(&attr, 1, cpuTypes, &outCount);

You could move this call in to the #if and drop the #else completely.

r=me
Comment 4 Sam Weinig 2010-08-24 20:11:20 PDT
Landed in 65968.