Bug 41566

Summary: Logic to track whether elements are using relative lengths is incomplete
Product: WebKit Reporter: Nikolas Zimmermann <zimmermann>
Component: SVGAssignee: Nikolas Zimmermann <zimmermann>
Status: RESOLVED FIXED    
Severity: Normal CC: krit, webkit.review.bot
Priority: P2    
Version: 528+ (Nightly build)   
Hardware: PC   
OS: OS X 10.5   
Bug Depends on:    
Bug Blocks: 15391    
Attachments:
Description Flags
Initial patch
none
Updated patch
none
Updated patch v2 krit: review+

Nikolas Zimmermann
Reported 2010-07-03 01:17:04 PDT
To be able to avoid relayouts for absolute positioned RenderObjects if just window size changes we need more logic in the SVG DOM to know whether an element has relative lengths or not.
Attachments
Initial patch (53.51 KB, patch)
2010-07-03 01:37 PDT, Nikolas Zimmermann
no flags
Updated patch (53.51 KB, patch)
2010-07-03 01:41 PDT, Nikolas Zimmermann
no flags
Updated patch v2 (176.15 KB, patch)
2010-07-05 07:23 PDT, Nikolas Zimmermann
krit: review+
Nikolas Zimmermann
Comment 1 2010-07-03 01:37:57 PDT
Created attachment 60442 [details] Initial patch This prepares the actual patch to fix bug 15391. Gives a huge speed benefit, whenever elements with absolute sizes are used, that do not need to relayout anymore. The actual logic for that comes in the patch for bug 15391, this is just a preparation.
WebKit Review Bot
Comment 2 2010-07-03 01:39:27 PDT
Attachment 60442 [details] did not pass style-queue: Failed to run "['WebKitTools/Scripts/check-webkit-style', '--no-squash']" exit_code: 1 WebCore/svg/SVGStyledElement.cpp:371: Tab found; better to use spaces [whitespace/tab] [1] Total errors found: 1 in 43 files If any of these errors are false positives, please file a bug against check-webkit-style.
Nikolas Zimmermann
Comment 3 2010-07-03 01:41:28 PDT
Created attachment 60444 [details] Updated patch Oops, remove leftover tab.
Dirk Schulze
Comment 4 2010-07-03 08:13:41 PDT
Comment on attachment 60444 [details] Updated patch > { > SVGStyledTransformableElement::svgAttributeChanged(attrName); > > + bool isLengthAttribute = attrName == SVGNames::cxAttr > + || attrName == SVGNames::cyAttr > + || attrName == SVGNames::rAttr; > + > + if (isLengthAttribute) > + updateRelativeLengthsInformation(); > + > RenderPath* renderer = static_cast<RenderPath*>(this->renderer()); > if (!renderer) updateRelativeLengthsInformation is not in this patch. Do we need to call it, even if we don't have a renderer? I guess you want to update the information about relative values, even if a renderer was not created yet, to avoid a second layout, correct? > +void SVGStyledElement::updateRelativeLengthsInformation(bool, SVGStyledElement*) > +{ > + // FIXME: The actual code will land in a follow-up patch. > +} > + > } Please add a link to this bug, even if you provide a followup soon. It looks like you changed the behavior of the filterElement. Do we have dynamic update tests for filter? If not, can you add some?
Nikolas Zimmermann
Comment 5 2010-07-05 01:57:21 PDT
(In reply to comment #4) > (From update of attachment 60444 [details]) > > { > > SVGStyledTransformableElement::svgAttributeChanged(attrName); > > > > + bool isLengthAttribute = attrName == SVGNames::cxAttr > > + || attrName == SVGNames::cyAttr > > + || attrName == SVGNames::rAttr; > > + > > + if (isLengthAttribute) > > + updateRelativeLengthsInformation(); > > + > > RenderPath* renderer = static_cast<RenderPath*>(this->renderer()); > > if (!renderer) > > updateRelativeLengthsInformation is not in this patch. Do we need to call it, even if we don't have a renderer? I guess you want to update the information about relative values, even if a renderer was not created yet, to avoid a second layout, correct? Well, it's necessary to build this information while parsing, before renderers are available. As soon as renderers are attached, and layouted we need the relative length information. > > +void SVGStyledElement::updateRelativeLengthsInformation(bool, SVGStyledElement*) > > +{ > > + // FIXME: The actual code will land in a follow-up patch. > > +} > > + > > } > > Please add a link to this bug, even if you provide a followup soon. Will do. > > It looks like you changed the behavior of the filterElement. Do we have dynamic update tests for filter? If not, can you add some? I hope you could mail me your set? You said you've already created some.
Dirk Schulze
Comment 6 2010-07-05 02:02:42 PDT
(In reply to comment #5) > I hope you could mail me your set? You said you've already created some. I'll search them. I changed the hard disk, so I can't promise that I still have them :-(
Nikolas Zimmermann
Comment 7 2010-07-05 07:23:27 PDT
Created attachment 60530 [details] Updated patch v2
Dirk Schulze
Comment 8 2010-07-05 07:30:03 PDT
Comment on attachment 60530 [details] Updated patch v2 r=me
Nikolas Zimmermann
Comment 9 2010-07-05 07:35:49 PDT
Landed in r62488.
Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.