Bug 33864

Summary: REGRESSION: Infinite recursion in Position::getInlineBoxAndOffset()
Product: WebKit Reporter: Enrica Casucci <enrica>
Component: New BugsAssignee: Nobody <webkit-unassigned>
Status: RESOLVED FIXED    
Severity: Normal Keywords: InRadar
Priority: P2    
Version: 528+ (Nightly build)   
Hardware: Other   
OS: OS X 10.5   
Attachments:
Description Flags
Patch simon.fraser: review+

Description Enrica Casucci 2010-01-19 13:51:02 PST
REGRESSION: Infinite recursion in Position::getInlineBoxAndOffset()
Comment 1 Enrica Casucci 2010-01-19 13:56:52 PST
Created attachment 46951 [details]
Patch
Comment 2 Simon Fraser (smfr) 2010-01-19 14:10:13 PST
Comment on attachment 46951 [details]
Patch

> Index: WebCore/ChangeLog
> ===================================================================

> +        REGRESSION: Infinite recursion in Position::getInlineBoxAndOffset()
> +        https://bugs.webkit.org/show_bug.cgi?id=33864
> +        <rdar://problem/7552959>
> +        
> +        Regression has been introduced by changeset 53085.
> +        The original fix had to be limited to editable content.

Could you reword this to explain it without reference to the original change?

> Index: LayoutTests/editing/selection/selection-applet.html
> ===================================================================
> --- LayoutTests/editing/selection/selection-applet.html	(revision 0)
> +++ LayoutTests/editing/selection/selection-applet.html	(revision 0)
> @@ -0,0 +1,10 @@
> +<body>
> +<script language="JavaScript" type="text/javascript">
> +if (window.layoutTestController)
> +     layoutTestController.dumpAsText();
> +
> +document.write('<applet id="test" width="400" height="400" name="test applet" code="test.class" codebase="." mayscript>');
> +document.write('You need Java(tm) to view this presentation. <a href="http://www.java.com">Download Java</a></applet> ');
> +window.getSelection().setPosition(document.getElementById("test"), 0);
> +</script>
> +</body>

Does the testcase really require Java, or would a simpler test with divs suffice? Also, is it required to document.write the test content?

r=me, but it would be nice to make the testcase more generic if possible.
Comment 3 Enrica Casucci 2010-01-19 14:18:09 PST
Committed revision 53494