Bug 259007

Summary: REGRESSION(265197@main) VM::performOpportunisticallyScheduledTasks() should hold the JSLock when calling the sweeper.
Product: WebKit Reporter: Mark Lam <mark.lam>
Component: JavaScriptCoreAssignee: Mark Lam <mark.lam>
Status: RESOLVED FIXED    
Severity: Normal CC: webkit-bug-importer
Priority: P2 Keywords: InRadar
Version: WebKit Nightly Build   
Hardware: Unspecified   
OS: Unspecified   

Mark Lam
Reported 2023-07-07 16:28:13 PDT
This makes it consistent with the incremental sweeper that currently fires off a timer, which also hold the JSLock while sweeping. Not holding the JSLock while sweeping has resulted in the RELEASE_ASSERT in the JSLock::DropAllLocks constructor failing. Here's how it happens: 1. For a normal timer triggered sweep, we go through JSRunLoopTimer::timerDidFire() which acquires the JSLock, and holds it while sweeping. 2. For an idle triggered VM::performOpportunisticallyScheduledTasks(), it does NOT hold the JSLock while sweeping. 3. While sweeping, we may call back into some ObjC code that wraps a JSValue. 4. Releasing that JSValue for the sweep, requires acquiring the JSLock. 5. On releasing that JSLock, if it’s the outermost lock (i.e. not a re-entrant lock), then the JSLock unlocking code will call Heap::releaseDelayedReleasedObjects(). 6. Heap::releaseDelayedReleasedObjects() uses DropAllLocks, which fails the RELEASE_ASSERT because we’re currently holding the JSLock and doing sweeping. 7. In contrast, for the normal timer triggered sweep, the outer most lock of the JSLock is JSRunLoopTimer::timerDidFire(). Hence, Heap::releaseDelayedReleasedObjects() won’t be called, and we won’t encounter this issue. The fix is simply to acquire and hold the JSLock while sweeping in VM::performOpportunisticallyScheduledTasks(). rdar://111505837
Attachments
Mark Lam
Comment 1 2023-07-07 16:33:49 PDT
EWS
Comment 2 2023-07-07 17:51:40 PDT
Committed 265871@main (779576407245): <https://commits.webkit.org/265871@main> Reviewed commits have been landed. Closing PR #15658 and removing active labels.
Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.