Bug 235325

Summary: Add a data URL resource loader performance test
Product: WebKit Reporter: Peng Liu <peng.liu6>
Component: MediaAssignee: Peng Liu <peng.liu6>
Status: RESOLVED FIXED    
Severity: Normal CC: eric.carlson, ews-watchlist, glenn, jer.noble, philipj, sergio, webkit-bug-importer
Priority: P2 Keywords: InRadar
Version: WebKit Nightly Build   
Hardware: Unspecified   
OS: Unspecified   
See Also: https://bugs.webkit.org/show_bug.cgi?id=234940
Attachments:
Description Flags
Patch
eric.carlson: review+
[fast-cq] Patch for landing none

Peng Liu
Reported 2022-01-18 12:39:12 PST
We fixed bug #234940 but did not add a regression test.
Attachments
Patch (4.08 KB, patch)
2022-01-18 12:57 PST, Peng Liu
eric.carlson: review+
[fast-cq] Patch for landing (4.17 KB, patch)
2022-01-18 13:48 PST, Peng Liu
no flags
Peng Liu
Comment 1 2022-01-18 12:57:51 PST
Eric Carlson
Comment 2 2022-01-18 13:12:58 PST
Comment on attachment 449412 [details] Patch View in context: https://bugs.webkit.org/attachment.cgi?id=449412&action=review > LayoutTests/media/video-src-blob-perf.html:19 > + failTest("Loading a data URL takes too long time."); It might be helpful to log the multiple when the test fails, to help diagnose failures in case the test is flaky in some situations. > LayoutTests/media/video-src-blob-perf.html:43 > + video1.src = url; > + start1 = Date.now(); It might be more accurate to set the source of both elements after the data url has been created. > LayoutTests/media/video-src-blob-perf.html:60 > + setTimeout(() => failTest("Cannot complete the test in 5 seconds."), 5000); Even normal tests sometimes take more than five seconds on a heavily loaded bot, so I would increase the timeout significantly (10 sec?)
Peng Liu
Comment 3 2022-01-18 13:45:25 PST
Comment on attachment 449412 [details] Patch View in context: https://bugs.webkit.org/attachment.cgi?id=449412&action=review >> LayoutTests/media/video-src-blob-perf.html:19 >> + failTest("Loading a data URL takes too long time."); > > It might be helpful to log the multiple when the test fails, to help diagnose failures in case the test is flaky in some situations. Good point! Will fix it. >> LayoutTests/media/video-src-blob-perf.html:43 >> + start1 = Date.now(); > > It might be more accurate to set the source of both elements after the data url has been created. Agree. Actually, after this change, the multiple is about 2 in my local tests. >> LayoutTests/media/video-src-blob-perf.html:60 >> + setTimeout(() => failTest("Cannot complete the test in 5 seconds."), 5000); > > Even normal tests sometimes take more than five seconds on a heavily loaded bot, so I would increase the timeout significantly (10 sec?) Good point!
Peng Liu
Comment 4 2022-01-18 13:48:13 PST
Created attachment 449418 [details] [fast-cq] Patch for landing
EWS
Comment 5 2022-01-19 11:45:28 PST
Committed r288221 (246181@main): <https://commits.webkit.org/246181@main> All reviewed patches have been landed. Closing bug and clearing flags on attachment 449418 [details].
Radar WebKit Bug Importer
Comment 6 2022-01-19 12:01:15 PST
Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.