Bug 213888

Summary: [MSE][GStreamer] Don't skip samples past media duration in AppendPipeline
Product: WebKit Reporter: Alicia Boya García <aboya>
Component: WebKitGTKAssignee: Alicia Boya García <aboya>
Status: RESOLVED FIXED    
Severity: Normal CC: bugs-noreply, calvaris, cgarcia, eocanha, ews-watchlist, gustavo, menard, pnormand, vjaquez
Priority: P2    
Version: WebKit Nightly Build   
Hardware: Unspecified   
OS: Unspecified   
Attachments:
Description Flags
Patch none

Alicia Boya García
Reported 2020-07-02 09:19:37 PDT
appsinkNewSample() contained code to skip samples whose presentation time starts after media duration. This is paradoxical, because later sourceBufferPrivateDidReceiveSample() extends media duration whenever the presentation end time of the sample is past the original one. It does not sound reasonable that samples extending the duration are okay on one case but outright rejected in the other. Also, if it was about skipping samples, sourceBufferPrivateDidReceiveSample() could do it itself, and already does in other cases. For all these reasons I was very doubtful of the need for this if() and indeed removing this condition didn't cause any new test failure.
Attachments
Patch (2.80 KB, patch)
2020-07-02 09:20 PDT, Alicia Boya García
no flags
Alicia Boya García
Comment 1 2020-07-02 09:20:30 PDT
Enrique Ocaña
Comment 2 2020-07-02 09:32:34 PDT
After discussing this removal with Alicia, checking where the original code came from before being upstreamed[1] (I can't recall any rationale for discarding samples beyond the duration), and Alicia checking that it doesn't break any YouTube TV test[2] nor LayoutTest, I agree with removing the code block. [1] https://github.com/eocanha/webkit/commit/86764b20df56#diff-1a0340714c802e905fa36d804906e36eR3270 [2] https://ytlr-cert.appspot.com/2019/main.html
EWS
Comment 3 2020-07-06 00:42:35 PDT
Committed r263962: <https://trac.webkit.org/changeset/263962> All reviewed patches have been landed. Closing bug and clearing flags on attachment 403372 [details].
Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.