Bug 205722

Summary: Allow multiple cmakeargs inside inside envvar
Product: WebKit Reporter: Paulo Matos <pmatos>
Component: New BugsAssignee: Paulo Matos <pmatos>
Status: RESOLVED FIXED    
Severity: Normal CC: clopez, commit-queue, webkit-bug-importer
Priority: P2 Keywords: InRadar
Version: WebKit Nightly Build   
Hardware: Unspecified   
OS: Unspecified   
Attachments:
Description Flags
Patch
none
Patch none

Paulo Matos
Reported 2020-01-03 06:49:08 PST
Allow multiple cmakeargs inside inside envvar
Attachments
Patch (2.10 KB, patch)
2020-01-03 06:58 PST, Paulo Matos
no flags
Patch (2.10 KB, patch)
2020-01-08 05:44 PST, Paulo Matos
no flags
Paulo Matos
Comment 1 2020-01-03 06:56:36 PST
webkit-patch upload crashed so will need to do the rest manually.
Paulo Matos
Comment 2 2020-01-03 06:58:07 PST
Paulo Matos
Comment 3 2020-01-03 06:59:20 PST
Currently it is not possible to pass multiple cmakeargs inside a BUILD_JSC_ARGS or BUILD_WEBKIT_ARGS because the split function splits without caring for quoting. Using Text::ParseWords should fix this.
Paulo Matos
Comment 4 2020-01-03 07:44:15 PST
To reproduce, currently this won't work: $ export BUILD_JSC_ARGS=--cmakeargs="-DENABLE_JIT=OFF -DENABLE_STATIC_JSC=ON" $ Tools/Scripts/build-jsc --release --jsc-only
Carlos Alberto Lopez Perez
Comment 5 2020-01-03 08:04:34 PST
(In reply to Paulo Matos from comment #4) > To reproduce, currently this won't work: > $ export BUILD_JSC_ARGS=--cmakeargs="-DENABLE_JIT=OFF -DENABLE_STATIC_JSC=ON" > $ Tools/Scripts/build-jsc --release --jsc-only This should work: export BUILD_JSC_ARGS='--cmakeargs="-DENABLE_JIT=OFF" --cmakeargs="-DENABLE_STATIC_JSC=ON"' or simply export BUILD_JSC_ARGS="--cmakeargs=-DENABLE_JIT=OFF --cmakeargs=-DENABLE_STATIC_JSC=ON" Its the same format than we use for BUILD_WEBKIT_ARGS check for example this bot https://build.webkit.org/builders/GTK%20Linux%2064-bit%20Release%20Debian%20Stable%20%28Build%29/builds/28240/steps/compile-webkit/logs/stdio how it exports BUILD_WEBKIT_ARGS="--cmakeargs=-DUSE_GSTREAMER_GL=OFF --cmakeargs=-DUSE_OPENJPEG=OFF --cmakeargs=-DUSE_WPE_RENDERER=OFF"
Carlos Alberto Lopez Perez
Comment 6 2020-01-03 08:04:45 PST
Comment on attachment 386679 [details] Patch The correct way to use this is to do something like:
Paulo Matos
Comment 7 2020-01-03 08:26:41 PST
(In reply to Carlos Alberto Lopez Perez from comment #5) > (In reply to Paulo Matos from comment #4) > > To reproduce, currently this won't work: > > $ export BUILD_JSC_ARGS=--cmakeargs="-DENABLE_JIT=OFF -DENABLE_STATIC_JSC=ON" > > $ Tools/Scripts/build-jsc --release --jsc-only > > This should work: > > export BUILD_JSC_ARGS='--cmakeargs="-DENABLE_JIT=OFF" > --cmakeargs="-DENABLE_STATIC_JSC=ON"' > > or simply > > export BUILD_JSC_ARGS="--cmakeargs=-DENABLE_JIT=OFF > --cmakeargs=-DENABLE_STATIC_JSC=ON" > > > Its the same format than we use for BUILD_WEBKIT_ARGS > > check for example this bot > https://build.webkit.org/builders/GTK%20Linux%2064- > bit%20Release%20Debian%20Stable%20%28Build%29/builds/28240/steps/compile- > webkit/logs/stdio how it exports > > BUILD_WEBKIT_ARGS="--cmakeargs=-DUSE_GSTREAMER_GL=OFF > --cmakeargs=-DUSE_OPENJPEG=OFF --cmakeargs=-DUSE_WPE_RENDERER=OFF" Yes - thanks, this works.
Paulo Matos
Comment 8 2020-01-03 08:26:52 PST
(In reply to Carlos Alberto Lopez Perez from comment #6) > Comment on attachment 386679 [details] > Patch > > The correct way to use this is to do something like: Is this comment incomplete?
Carlos Alberto Lopez Perez
Comment 9 2020-01-03 09:43:04 PST
(In reply to Paulo Matos from comment #8) > (In reply to Carlos Alberto Lopez Perez from comment #6) > > Comment on attachment 386679 [details] > > Patch > > > > The correct way to use this is to do something like: > > Is this comment incomplete? Yes, sorry... ignore it.
Paulo Matos
Comment 10 2020-01-06 02:41:01 PST
Comment on attachment 386679 [details] Patch Even though we have a workaround, is there a reason not to merge this?
Carlos Alberto Lopez Perez
Comment 11 2020-01-06 06:24:28 PST
Comment on attachment 386679 [details] Patch r=me This makes possible passing arguments containing spaces quoted.
WebKit Commit Bot
Comment 12 2020-01-06 07:11:38 PST
Comment on attachment 386679 [details] Patch Rejecting attachment 386679 [details] from commit-queue. Failed to run "['/Volumes/Data/EWS/WebKit/Tools/Scripts/webkit-patch', '--status-host=webkit-queues.webkit.org', '--bot-id=webkit-cq-01', 'land-attachment', '--force-clean', '--non-interactive', '--parent-command=commit-queue', 386679, '--port=mac']" exit_code: 2 cwd: /Volumes/Data/EWS/WebKit Logging in as commit-queue@webkit.org... Fetching: https://bugs.webkit.org/attachment.cgi?id=386679&action=edit Fetching: https://bugs.webkit.org/show_bug.cgi?id=205722&ctype=xml&excludefield=attachmentdata Processing 1 patch from 1 bug. Updating working directory Processing patch 386679 from bug 205722. Fetching: https://bugs.webkit.org/attachment.cgi?id=386679 Failed to run "['git', 'svn', 'dcommit', '--rmdir']" exit_code: 1 cwd: /Volumes/Data/EWS/WebKit Committing to http://svn.webkit.org/repository/webkit/trunk ... M Tools/ChangeLog M Tools/Scripts/build-jsc M Tools/Scripts/build-webkit ERROR from SVN: A repository hook failed: Commit blocked by pre-commit hook (exit code 1) with output: The following files contain tab characters: trunk/Tools/ChangeLog Please use spaces instead to indent. If you must commit a file with tabs, use svn propset to set the "allow-tabs" property. W: d8b917e309bb2edf64e7129559e33711c1034716 and refs/remotes/origin/master differ, using rebase: :040000 040000 3dc7aab04446455aac04105d2a6a2d245ad81de7 d82a4734ada310de3a6e9d7a147a517aa3d867c9 M Tools Current branch master is up to date. ERROR: Not all changes have been committed into SVN, however the committed ones (if any) seem to be successfully integrated into the working tree. Please see the above messages for details. Failed to run "['git', 'svn', 'dcommit', '--rmdir']" exit_code: 1 cwd: /Volumes/Data/EWS/WebKit Committing to http://svn.webkit.org/repository/webkit/trunk ... M Tools/ChangeLog M Tools/Scripts/build-jsc M Tools/Scripts/build-webkit ERROR from SVN: A repository hook failed: Commit blocked by pre-commit hook (exit code 1) with output: The following files contain tab characters: trunk/Tools/ChangeLog Please use spaces instead to indent. If you must commit a file with tabs, use svn propset to set the "allow-tabs" property. W: d8b917e309bb2edf64e7129559e33711c1034716 and refs/remotes/origin/master differ, using rebase: :040000 040000 3dc7aab04446455aac04105d2a6a2d245ad81de7 d82a4734ada310de3a6e9d7a147a517aa3d867c9 M Tools Current branch master is up to date. ERROR: Not all changes have been committed into SVN, however the committed ones (if any) seem to be successfully integrated into the working tree. Please see the above messages for details. Failed to run "['git', 'svn', 'dcommit', '--rmdir']" exit_code: 1 cwd: /Volumes/Data/EWS/WebKit Updating OpenSource From https://git.webkit.org/git/WebKit 1e2ca3eb255..ae53adcc5bd master -> origin/master Partial-rebuilding .git/svn/refs/remotes/origin/master/.rev_map.268f45cc-cd09-0410-ab3c-d52691b4dbfc ... Currently at 254050 = 1e2ca3eb255bca298d704ec2c6cabd71d28a0778 r254051 = ae53adcc5bd6144e77cbef561a9d99db002e5827 Done rebuilding .git/svn/refs/remotes/origin/master/.rev_map.268f45cc-cd09-0410-ab3c-d52691b4dbfc First, rewinding head to replay your work on top of it... Fast-forwarded master to refs/remotes/origin/master. Full output: https://webkit-queues.webkit.org/results/13300045
Paulo Matos
Comment 13 2020-01-08 05:44:50 PST
WebKit Commit Bot
Comment 14 2020-01-08 06:07:57 PST
Comment on attachment 387098 [details] Patch Clearing flags on attachment: 387098 Committed r254196: <https://trac.webkit.org/changeset/254196>
WebKit Commit Bot
Comment 15 2020-01-08 06:07:58 PST
All reviewed patches have been landed. Closing bug.
Radar WebKit Bug Importer
Comment 16 2020-01-08 06:08:17 PST
Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.