Bug 195306

Summary: Web Inspector: Reload actions from second level inspector should properly reload the inspected inspector
Product: WebKit Reporter: Joseph Pecoraro <joepeck>
Component: Web InspectorAssignee: Joseph Pecoraro <joepeck>
Status: RESOLVED FIXED    
Severity: Normal CC: commit-queue, inspector-bugzilla-changes, joepeck, mattbaker, nvasilyev, webkit-bug-importer
Priority: P2 Keywords: InRadar
Version: WebKit Nightly Build   
Hardware: All   
OS: All   
Attachments:
Description Flags
[PATCH] Proposed Fix none

Joseph Pecoraro
Reported 2019-03-04 19:41:02 PST
Reload actions from second level inspector should properly reload the inspected inspector Can't use PageAgent.reload, need to InspectorFrontendHost.reopen.
Attachments
[PATCH] Proposed Fix (3.42 KB, patch)
2019-03-04 19:42 PST, Joseph Pecoraro
no flags
Joseph Pecoraro
Comment 1 2019-03-04 19:42:03 PST
Created attachment 363583 [details] [PATCH] Proposed Fix
Matt Baker
Comment 2 2019-03-04 20:02:16 PST
Comment on attachment 363583 [details] [PATCH] Proposed Fix r=me
WebKit Commit Bot
Comment 3 2019-03-04 20:28:05 PST
Comment on attachment 363583 [details] [PATCH] Proposed Fix Clearing flags on attachment: 363583 Committed r242410: <https://trac.webkit.org/changeset/242410>
WebKit Commit Bot
Comment 4 2019-03-04 20:28:06 PST
All reviewed patches have been landed. Closing bug.
Radar WebKit Bug Importer
Comment 5 2019-03-04 20:29:18 PST
Nikita Vasilyev
Comment 6 2019-03-06 15:59:39 PST
Now there's no way to reload Web Inspector so it picks up changes from the filesystem. With this patch, pressing Command-R in 2nd level inspector doesn't pick up changes from the FS. "Reload Inspector" context menu stopped doing it a few months ago. 😭
Joseph Pecoraro
Comment 7 2019-03-06 21:02:12 PST
(In reply to Nikita Vasilyev from comment #6) > Now there's no way to reload Web Inspector so it picks up changes from the > filesystem. > > With this patch, pressing Command-R in 2nd level inspector doesn't pick up > changes from the FS. > > "Reload Inspector" context menu stopped doing it a few months ago. > > 😭 Reloading from the file system never actually worked properly =(. It may have been a quick hack usable for development but it never re-initialized things properly. If we want to add something like that back we should make sure it works properly.
Nikita Vasilyev
Comment 8 2019-03-07 12:45:21 PST
(In reply to Joseph Pecoraro from comment #7) > (In reply to Nikita Vasilyev from comment #6) > > Now there's no way to reload Web Inspector so it picks up changes from the > > filesystem. > > > > With this patch, pressing Command-R in 2nd level inspector doesn't pick up > > changes from the FS. > > > > "Reload Inspector" context menu stopped doing it a few months ago. > > > > 😭 > > Reloading from the file system never actually worked properly =(. It may > have been a quick hack usable for development but it never re-initialized > things properly. If we want to add something like that back we should make > sure it works properly. What do you mean by properly? I used it for development hundreds of times a day and now I can't. How often do you need to reload 1st level Inspector from the 2nd level Inspector but not load the latest files from the filesystem? This actually reads changes from the FS: WI._reloadInspectedInspector = function() { PageAgent.reload.invoke({ignoreCache: true}, function() { const options = {}; WI.runtimeManager.evaluateInInspectedWindow(`InspectorFrontendHost.reopen()`, options, function(){}); }); }; It reloads Inspector twice, essentially, but it actually works.
Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.