Bug 192192

Summary: REGRESSION(r?): Web Inspector: Reloading no longer picks up changes in source files
Product: WebKit Reporter: Nikita Vasilyev <nvasilyev>
Component: Web InspectorAssignee: Nobody <webkit-unassigned>
Status: NEW    
Severity: Normal CC: inspector-bugzilla-changes, joepeck
Priority: P2    
Version: WebKit Nightly Build   
Hardware: All   
OS: All   
Attachments:
Description Flags
[Screenshot] Empty Elements tab none

Nikita Vasilyev
Reported 2018-11-29 15:19:30 PST
Developing is harder now that reloading Web Inspector doesn't pick up source code changes. Steps: 1. Open Web Inspector 2. Make some WI source files changes 3. Right-click anywhere in Web Inspector 4. Click "Reload Web Inspector" Actual: Web Inspector reloads with the source files *before* the changes were made. Expected: Web Inspector reloads with the latest sources.
Attachments
[Screenshot] Empty Elements tab (65.42 KB, image/png)
2018-11-29 15:24 PST, Nikita Vasilyev
no flags
Nikita Vasilyev
Comment 1 2018-11-29 15:24:01 PST
Created attachment 356074 [details] [Screenshot] Empty Elements tab Opening a second level inspector and pressing Command-R reloads WI [1] as expected. However, the Elements tab is shown empty.
Joseph Pecoraro
Comment 2 2019-01-15 14:39:08 PST
The old reload would do: location.reload() Which ultimately does a load ignoring the cache in WebCore: void FrameLoader::reload(OptionSet<ReloadOption> options) { ... ResourceRequest& request = loader->request(); // FIXME: We don't have a mechanism to revalidate the main resource without reloading at the moment. request.setCachePolicy(ResourceRequestCachePolicy::ReloadIgnoringCacheData); ... } The new reload of Web Inspector (for PSON) - InspectorFrontendHost.reopen, just closes and opens the Web Inspector. This does an initial WebPageProxy::loadRequest which doesn't ignore the cache. void WebInspectorProxy::openLocalInspectorFrontend(bool canAttach, bool underTest) { ... m_inspectorPage->loadRequest(URL(URL(), m_underTest ? WebInspectorProxy::inspectorTestPageURL() : WebInspectorProxy::inspectorPageURL())); } If we wanted to get this working for inspector² we would need some way to open the inspector ignoring the cache.
Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.