Bug 172467

Summary: Web Inspector: Don't load the active recording until a Timeline view needs to be shown
Product: WebKit Reporter: Devin Rousso <hi>
Component: Web InspectorAssignee: Devin Rousso <hi>
Status: RESOLVED FIXED    
Severity: Normal CC: commit-queue, inspector-bugzilla-changes, joepeck, mattbaker, webkit-bug-importer
Priority: P2 Keywords: InRadar
Version: WebKit Nightly Build   
Hardware: All   
OS: All   
Attachments:
Description Flags
Patch
none
[Image] Timeline Before
none
[Image] Timeline After
none
Patch
none
Patch none

Devin Rousso
Reported 2017-05-22 13:28:15 PDT
The active recording `WebInspector.timelineManager.activeRecording` is displayed when the Timeline tab is created, causing a ContentView to be created even though it isn't being shown. Instead of displaying the recording then, we can do it later when a timeline view needs to be shown, assuming a different recording hasn't already been loaded.
Attachments
Patch (2.97 KB, patch)
2017-05-22 13:31 PDT, Devin Rousso
no flags
[Image] Timeline Before (494.19 KB, image/png)
2017-05-22 13:32 PDT, Devin Rousso
no flags
[Image] Timeline After (480.69 KB, image/png)
2017-05-22 13:32 PDT, Devin Rousso
no flags
Patch (2.81 KB, patch)
2017-05-23 13:32 PDT, Devin Rousso
no flags
Patch (3.34 KB, patch)
2017-05-23 17:05 PDT, Devin Rousso
no flags
Devin Rousso
Comment 1 2017-05-22 13:31:52 PDT
Devin Rousso
Comment 2 2017-05-22 13:32:10 PDT
Created attachment 310907 [details] [Image] Timeline Before
Devin Rousso
Comment 3 2017-05-22 13:32:21 PDT
Created attachment 310908 [details] [Image] Timeline After
Matt Baker
Comment 4 2017-05-22 13:38:29 PDT
Nice, a 50 ms improvement is pretty good! Did you take more than one sample?
Devin Rousso
Comment 5 2017-05-22 13:47:12 PDT
(In reply to Matt Baker from comment #4) > Nice, a 50 ms improvement is pretty good! Did you take more than one sample? I re-ran it about 5 times, each on a different tab, and saw around the same improvement. Additionally, I tested the few approaches I know of to load the inspector on the Timelines tab (Develop menu, reloading when Timelines was last selected, clicking the dashboard, etc.) and saw no issues.
Joseph Pecoraro
Comment 6 2017-05-22 21:35:54 PDT
Comment on attachment 310906 [details] Patch View in context: https://bugs.webkit.org/attachment.cgi?id=310906&action=review r- for question below. > Source/WebInspectorUI/ChangeLog:12 > + `_displayedRecording` isn't already set. This delays the creation of the content view for Style: One space after a period. > Source/WebInspectorUI/ChangeLog:19 > + > + Style: Too many blank lines > Source/WebInspectorUI/UserInterface/Views/TimelineTabContentView.js:537 > + if (!this._displayedRecording && WebInspector.timelineManager.activeRecording) > + this._recordingLoaded(); I think this deserves a comment, because it is really not the right place for this. Perhaps it should just be inside a function named `_lazyInitialization`. It is also unclear to me why this is the correct place and not something like `shown` or `restoreFromCookie`. Can you describe why this is the most appropriate?
Devin Rousso
Comment 7 2017-05-23 13:27:14 PDT
Comment on attachment 310906 [details] Patch View in context: https://bugs.webkit.org/attachment.cgi?id=310906&action=review >> Source/WebInspectorUI/UserInterface/Views/TimelineTabContentView.js:537 >> + this._recordingLoaded(); > > I think this deserves a comment, because it is really not the right place for this. > > Perhaps it should just be inside a function named `_lazyInitialization`. It is also unclear to me why this is the correct place and not something like `shown` or `restoreFromCookie`. Can you describe why this is the most appropriate? I am investigating moving it to `restoreFromCookie`. I agree that it was badly placed, but I put it here because it was the one function that every "entry" to the Timelines tab seemed to call.
Devin Rousso
Comment 8 2017-05-23 13:32:16 PDT
Joseph Pecoraro
Comment 9 2017-05-23 15:57:02 PDT
Comment on attachment 311043 [details] Patch View in context: https://bugs.webkit.org/attachment.cgi?id=311043&action=review > Source/WebInspectorUI/UserInterface/Views/TimelineTabContentView.js:326 > Does that me we should be able to assert down here that we have a _displayedRecording? Before this change, and the previous patch, would have loaded the active recording in this path as well but this patch does not. Why does it not need to be done here?
Devin Rousso
Comment 10 2017-05-23 17:05:30 PDT
Joseph Pecoraro
Comment 11 2017-05-24 11:23:02 PDT
Comment on attachment 311080 [details] Patch r=me
WebKit Commit Bot
Comment 12 2017-05-24 11:53:49 PDT
Comment on attachment 311080 [details] Patch Clearing flags on attachment: 311080 Committed r217379: <http://trac.webkit.org/changeset/217379>
WebKit Commit Bot
Comment 13 2017-05-24 11:53:50 PDT
All reviewed patches have been landed. Closing bug.
Radar WebKit Bug Importer
Comment 14 2017-05-30 20:26:17 PDT
Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.