Bug 158883

Summary: TouchEvent should have a constructor
Product: WebKit Reporter: Chris Dumez <cdumez>
Component: WebCore Misc.Assignee: Chris Dumez <cdumez>
Status: RESOLVED FIXED    
Severity: Normal CC: bdakin, benjamin, commit-queue, dino, esprehn+autocc, kangil.han, kondapallykalyan, simon.fraser
Priority: P2 Keywords: WebExposed
Version: WebKit Nightly Build   
Hardware: Unspecified   
OS: Unspecified   
Bug Depends on:    
Bug Blocks: 147740    
Attachments:
Description Flags
Patch
none
Patch none

Chris Dumez
Reported 2016-06-17 12:39:56 PDT
TouchEvent should have a constructor: https://w3c.github.io/touch-events/#touchevent-interface
Attachments
Patch (9.32 KB, patch)
2016-06-17 12:43 PDT, Chris Dumez
no flags
Patch (11.22 KB, patch)
2016-06-17 13:50 PDT, Chris Dumez
no flags
Chris Dumez
Comment 1 2016-06-17 12:43:44 PDT
Benjamin Poulain
Comment 2 2016-06-17 13:39:42 PDT
Comment on attachment 281577 [details] Patch View in context: https://bugs.webkit.org/attachment.cgi?id=281577&action=review > LayoutTests/fast/events/touch/touch-event-constructor.html:8 > +description("Tests the TouchEvent constructor"); Tests->Test > LayoutTests/fast/events/touch/touch-event-constructor.html:30 > +shouldNotThrow("ev = new TouchEvent('touchmove', { touches: listA, targetTouches: listB, changedTouches: listC, bubbles: true })"); > +shouldBe("ev.__proto__", "TouchEvent.prototype"); > +shouldBeEqualToString("ev.type", "touchmove"); > +shouldBe("ev.touches.length", "1"); > +shouldBe("ev.targetTouches.length", "2"); > +shouldBe("ev.changedTouches.length", "3"); > +shouldBeTrue("ev.bubbles"); Ideally you should also cover each list separately.
Chris Dumez
Comment 3 2016-06-17 13:50:28 PDT
Chris Dumez
Comment 4 2016-06-17 13:51:13 PDT
Comment on attachment 281585 [details] Patch Clearing flags on attachment: 281585 Committed r202178: <http://trac.webkit.org/changeset/202178>
Chris Dumez
Comment 5 2016-06-17 13:51:19 PDT
All reviewed patches have been landed. Closing bug.
Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.