Bug 152959

Summary: [webkitdirs] Use CMake to determine architecture on isCMakeBuild()
Product: WebKit Reporter: Konstantin Tokarev <annulen>
Component: Tools / TestsAssignee: Nobody <webkit-unassigned>
Status: RESOLVED FIXED    
Severity: Normal CC: achristensen, bfulgham, commit-queue, dbates, gyuyoung.kim, lforschler, mcatanzaro
Priority: P2    
Version: WebKit Local Build   
Hardware: Unspecified   
OS: Unspecified   
Attachments:
Description Flags
Patch
none
Patch none

Description Konstantin Tokarev 2016-01-10 09:47:34 PST
Use isCMakeBuild() condition instead of isEfl() || isGtk()
Comment 1 Konstantin Tokarev 2016-01-10 10:32:31 PST
Created attachment 268653 [details]
Patch
Comment 2 Konstantin Tokarev 2016-01-10 10:34:44 PST
Created attachment 268655 [details]
Patch
Comment 3 Brent Fulgham 2016-01-10 11:28:53 PST
Comment on attachment 268655 [details]
Patch

I think this looks good. I would like Alex to double-check, but if the Windows EWW passes I think it's appropriate to land this.
Comment 4 Gyuyoung Kim 2016-01-10 21:21:13 PST
(In reply to comment #3)
> Comment on attachment 268655 [details]
> Patch
> 
> I think this looks good. I would like Alex to double-check, but if the
> Windows EWW passes I think it's appropriate to land this.

LGTM too.
Comment 5 Gyuyoung Kim 2016-01-11 06:15:42 PST
Comment on attachment 268655 [details]
Patch

This patch passes win-ews which is built using cmake. I think this change is fine for win port as well.
Comment 6 WebKit Commit Bot 2016-01-11 07:01:54 PST
Comment on attachment 268655 [details]
Patch

Clearing flags on attachment: 268655

Committed r194849: <http://trac.webkit.org/changeset/194849>
Comment 7 WebKit Commit Bot 2016-01-11 07:01:59 PST
All reviewed patches have been landed.  Closing bug.
Comment 8 Alex Christensen 2016-01-11 12:48:21 PST
Comment on attachment 268655 [details]
Patch

View in context: https://bugs.webkit.org/attachment.cgi?id=268655&action=review

> Tools/Scripts/webkitdirs.pm:342
>          $host_processor = `cmake --system-information | grep CMAKE_SYSTEM_PROCESSOR`;

We must not be running this on Windows.  I don't think we require grep to be installed.  If this doesn't break anything, then I guess it can stay, but I don't think this was a beneficial change.
Comment 9 Konstantin Tokarev 2016-01-11 13:09:37 PST
Comment on attachment 268655 [details]
Patch

View in context: https://bugs.webkit.org/attachment.cgi?id=268655&action=review

>> Tools/Scripts/webkitdirs.pm:342
>>          $host_processor = `cmake --system-information | grep CMAKE_SYSTEM_PROCESSOR`;
> 
> We must not be running this on Windows.  I don't think we require grep to be installed.  If this doesn't break anything, then I guess it can stay, but I don't think this was a beneficial change.

If you want, I can fix it to avoid grep invocation, with pure perl.
Comment 10 Alex Christensen 2016-01-11 13:16:06 PST
(In reply to comment #9)
> If you want, I can fix it to avoid grep invocation, with pure perl.
Perl is definitely a requirement.  That would be nice, although I'm not sure what if anything that would fix.
Comment 11 Brent Fulgham 2016-01-11 13:17:35 PST
(In reply to comment #9)
> Comment on attachment 268655 [details]
> Patch
> 
> View in context:
> https://bugs.webkit.org/attachment.cgi?id=268655&action=review
> 
> >> Tools/Scripts/webkitdirs.pm:342
> >>          $host_processor = `cmake --system-information | grep CMAKE_SYSTEM_PROCESSOR`;
> > 
> > We must not be running this on Windows.  I don't think we require grep to be installed.  If this doesn't break anything, then I guess it can stay, but I don't think this was a beneficial change.
> 
> If you want, I can fix it to avoid grep invocation, with pure perl.

Yes -- we must be running this and just not noticing the failure. Or, Cygwin 'grep' is getting used. We'd like to move off of Cygwin in the future, so making this a pure Perl implementation would be much better.

Could you do that as a separate bug, though?
Comment 12 Michael Catanzaro 2016-01-11 15:48:21 PST
One good solution would be to change this condition to:

isCMakeBuild() && !isWindows()
Comment 13 Gyuyoung Kim 2016-01-11 17:25:36 PST
Comment on attachment 268655 [details]
Patch

View in context: https://bugs.webkit.org/attachment.cgi?id=268655&action=review

>>>> Tools/Scripts/webkitdirs.pm:342
>>>>          $host_processor = `cmake --system-information | grep CMAKE_SYSTEM_PROCESSOR`;
>>> 
>>> We must not be running this on Windows.  I don't think we require grep to be installed.  If this doesn't break anything, then I guess it can stay, but I don't think this was a beneficial change.
>> 
>> If you want, I can fix it to avoid grep invocation, with pure perl.
> 
> Yes -- we must be running this and just not noticing the failure. Or, Cygwin 'grep' is getting used. We'd like to move off of Cygwin in the future, so making this a pure Perl implementation would be much better.
> 
> Could you do that as a separate bug, though?

I thought that win port is using Cygwin. Sorry for missing the plan. Anyway I just file a new bug for this instead - https://bugs.webkit.org/show_bug.cgi?id=152998.
Comment 14 Alex Christensen 2016-01-11 17:27:43 PST
(In reply to comment #13)
> I thought that win port is using Cygwin. Sorry for missing the plan.
No problem.  Most of our builders do use Cygwin, but we don't require it and we're trying to (slowly) move away from using it.  The WinCairo bot doesn't use Cygwin.
Comment 15 Gyuyoung Kim 2016-01-11 17:30:29 PST
(In reply to comment #14)
> (In reply to comment #13)
> > I thought that win port is using Cygwin. Sorry for missing the plan.
> No problem.  Most of our builders do use Cygwin, but we don't require it and
> we're trying to (slowly) move away from using it.  The WinCairo bot doesn't
> use Cygwin.

I see. I will support the plan as well.