Bug 143423

Summary: [Mac] Spins seen in WKSetApplicationInformationItem, so it should not be called on the main thread
Product: WebKit Reporter: Darin Adler <darin>
Component: WebKit2Assignee: Darin Adler <darin>
Status: RESOLVED FIXED    
Severity: Normal CC: andersca, ap, barraclough, mitz, sam
Priority: P2 Keywords: InRadar
Version: 528+ (Nightly build)   
Hardware: Mac   
OS: All   
Attachments:
Description Flags
Patch ap: review+

Darin Adler
Reported 2015-04-05 14:12:09 PDT
[Mac] Spins seen in WKSetApplicationInformationItem, so it should not be called on the main thread
Attachments
Patch (4.23 KB, patch)
2015-04-05 14:24 PDT, Darin Adler
ap: review+
Darin Adler
Comment 1 2015-04-05 14:24:30 PDT
Alexey Proskuryakov
Comment 2 2015-04-05 15:14:08 PDT
Comment on attachment 250167 [details] Patch View in context: https://bugs.webkit.org/attachment.cgi?id=250167&action=review r=me assuming that there is a reason to believe that WKSetApplicationInformationItem can be used from a secondary thread. > Source/WebKit2/WebProcess/cocoa/WebProcessCocoa.mm:270 > +#if USE(APPKIT) We should probably use PLATFORM(MAC) now, as USE(APPKIT) is just a more confusing way to say the same. > Source/WebKit2/WebProcess/cocoa/WebProcessCocoa.mm:304 > + WKSetApplicationInformationItem(CFSTR("LSActivePageUserVisibleOriginsKey"), activePageURLs.get()); Is this function documented to be usable from a secondary thread? It doesn't seem obvious that it would be safe - there is waiting for an IPC response, and dealing with app global data structures here.
Darin Adler
Comment 3 2015-04-05 15:22:19 PDT
(In reply to comment #2) > Is this function documented to be usable from a secondary thread? Yes. It says "Mac OS X threading: Thread safe" in the header.
Darin Adler
Comment 4 2015-04-05 15:23:26 PDT
Comment on attachment 250167 [details] Patch View in context: https://bugs.webkit.org/attachment.cgi?id=250167&action=review >> Source/WebKit2/WebProcess/cocoa/WebProcessCocoa.mm:270 >> +#if USE(APPKIT) > > We should probably use PLATFORM(MAC) now, as USE(APPKIT) is just a more confusing way to say the same. I’m not sure what changed from when we first wrote the code, but I’ll do it. I think USE(APPKIT) is better than PLATFORM(MAC) when we are actually talking about AppKit, but I suppose WKSetApplicationInformationItem is hardly AppKit.
Darin Adler
Comment 5 2015-04-05 15:25:18 PDT
mitz
Comment 6 2015-04-05 15:25:54 PDT
Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.