Bug 141266

Summary: Web Inspector: Support data URL SourceMaps for iOS 6 and iOS 7
Product: WebKit Reporter: jonowells
Component: Web InspectorAssignee: Nobody <webkit-unassigned>
Status: RESOLVED WONTFIX    
Severity: Normal CC: graouts, joepeck, jonowells, mattbaker, nvasilyev, timothy, webkit-bug-importer
Priority: P2 Keywords: InRadar
Version: 528+ (Nightly build)   
Hardware: All   
OS: All   

Description jonowells 2015-02-04 14:58:52 PST
Right now iOS 6 and iOS 7 using the Remote Inspector won't show source maps with data URLs even though they could.
Comment 1 Radar WebKit Bug Importer 2015-02-04 14:59:02 PST
<rdar://problem/19721661>
Comment 2 jonowells 2015-02-04 15:05:32 PST
SourceMapResource#sourceMapResourceLoadError will need to not throw an error, or be otherwise avoided when using the remote inspector on iOS 6 or 7, or else execution will stop.
Comment 3 Joseph Pecoraro 2015-02-04 17:26:29 PST
When possible, we should title radars based on their user impact, instead of the code change. The _loadAndParseSourceMap part is overly specific, in case this were to change.
Comment 4 Joseph Pecoraro 2015-02-04 17:27:01 PST
s/radars/bugs/ =)
Comment 5 jonowells 2015-02-04 20:26:14 PST
(In reply to comment #2)
> SourceMapResource#sourceMapResourceLoadError will need to not throw an
> error, or be otherwise avoided when using the remote inspector on iOS 6 or
> 7, or else execution will stop.

This is no longer a concern. An error is no longer thrown.
Comment 6 Timothy Hatcher 2015-02-18 14:51:14 PST
What needs done here?
Comment 7 Joseph Pecoraro 2015-02-18 15:23:39 PST
(In reply to comment #6)
> What needs done here?

SourceMapManager only loads SourceMap resources if NetworkAgent.loadResource exists (so it can load the resource through the inspected page). If that doesn't exist (e.g. iOS 6 and 7) we don't even try to load source maps.

I'm not sure if it is worth the time investment at this point to implement something for iOS 6 and 7 here. I believe we used to do an XHR / synchronous load from the frontend, which won't work in all cases anyway.