Bug 140331

Summary: Filters aren't applied to elements in columns after the first
Product: WebKit Reporter: Simon Fraser (smfr) <simon.fraser>
Component: Layout and RenderingAssignee: Dean Jackson <dino>
Status: RESOLVED FIXED    
Severity: Normal CC: commit-queue, dino, esprehn+autocc, glenn, kondapallykalyan, krit, simon.fraser, webkit-bug-importer
Priority: P2 Keywords: InRadar
Version: 528+ (Nightly build)   
Hardware: Unspecified   
OS: Unspecified   
Bug Depends on:    
Bug Blocks: 144043    
Attachments:
Description Flags
Testcase
none
Patch simon.fraser: review+

Description Simon Fraser (smfr) 2015-01-09 20:58:17 PST
Issue with filters and columns.
Comment 1 Simon Fraser (smfr) 2015-01-09 20:59:38 PST
Created attachment 244402 [details]
Testcase
Comment 2 Simon Fraser (smfr) 2015-01-09 21:03:24 PST
rdar://problem/19313858
Comment 3 Simon Fraser (smfr) 2015-01-09 21:10:30 PST
The rootRelativeBounds computed by RenderLayer::setupFilters() doesn't take columns into account.
Comment 4 Simon Fraser (smfr) 2015-01-09 21:16:22 PST
clip-path is similarly broken.
Comment 5 Simon Fraser (smfr) 2015-01-09 21:41:26 PST
Fix is something like this:

diff --git a/Source/WebCore/rendering/RenderLayer.cpp b/Source/WebCore/rendering/RenderLayer.cpp
index 1e9f4955775fa120f39cca40126296089e043746..8688273887be2d6dba3d741afe925a02071de05b 100644
--- a/Source/WebCore/rendering/RenderLayer.cpp
+++ b/Source/WebCore/rendering/RenderLayer.cpp
@@ -4094,12 +4094,14 @@ void RenderLayer::paintLayerContents(GraphicsContext* context, const LayerPainti
     bool needToAdjustSubpixelQuantization = setupFontSubpixelQuantization(context, didQuantizeFonts);
 
     // Apply clip-path to context.
-    bool hasClipPath = setupClipPath(context, paintingInfo, offsetFromRoot, rootRelativeBounds, rootRelativeBoundsComputed);
+    LayoutSize columnAwareOffsetFromRoot = toLayoutSize(convertToLayerCoords(paintingInfo.rootLayer, LayoutPoint(), AdjustForColumns));
+    bool hasClipPath = setupClipPath(context, paintingInfo, columnAwareOffsetFromRoot, rootRelativeBounds, rootRelativeBoundsComputed);
 
     LayerPaintingInfo localPaintingInfo(paintingInfo);
 
     GraphicsContext* transparencyLayerContext = context;
-    std::unique_ptr<FilterEffectRendererHelper> filterPainter = setupFilters(context, localPaintingInfo, paintFlags, offsetFromRoot, rootRelativeBounds, rootRelativeBoundsComputed);
+
+    std::unique_ptr<FilterEffectRendererHelper> filterPainter = setupFilters(context, localPaintingInfo, paintFlags, columnAwareOffsetFromRoot, rootRelativeBounds, rootRelativeBoundsComputed);
     if (filterPainter) {
         context = filterPainter->filterContext();
         if (context != transparencyLayerContext && haveTransparency) {
Comment 6 Dean Jackson 2015-01-13 13:48:17 PST
Created attachment 244539 [details]
Patch
Comment 7 Simon Fraser (smfr) 2015-01-13 14:18:38 PST
Comment on attachment 244539 [details]
Patch

View in context: https://bugs.webkit.org/attachment.cgi?id=244539&action=review

> Source/WebCore/rendering/RenderLayer.cpp:4110
> +    if (renderer().flowThreadContainingBlock() && (renderer().hasClipPath() || hasFilterThatIsPainting(context, paintFlags)))

Is the renderer().flowThreadContainingBlock() permissive enough to handle blocks deeply nested inside columns?
Comment 8 Dean Jackson 2015-01-13 15:05:40 PST
Comment on attachment 244539 [details]
Patch

View in context: https://bugs.webkit.org/attachment.cgi?id=244539&action=review

>> Source/WebCore/rendering/RenderLayer.cpp:4110
>> +    if (renderer().flowThreadContainingBlock() && (renderer().hasClipPath() || hasFilterThatIsPainting(context, paintFlags)))
> 
> Is the renderer().flowThreadContainingBlock() permissive enough to handle blocks deeply nested inside columns?

I believe so.
Comment 9 Dean Jackson 2015-01-13 15:22:47 PST
Committed r178380: <http://trac.webkit.org/changeset/178380>