Bug 139468

Summary: Continuously repainting large parts of Huffington Post.
Product: WebKit Reporter: zalan <zalan>
Component: Layout and RenderingAssignee: zalan <zalan>
Status: RESOLVED FIXED    
Severity: Normal CC: barraclough, commit-queue, esprehn+autocc, glenn, hyatt, kling, koivisto, kondapallykalyan, simon.fraser
Priority: P2 Keywords: InRadar
Version: 528+ (Nightly build)   
Hardware: Unspecified   
OS: Unspecified   
Attachments:
Description Flags
Patch
none
Patch zalan: commit-queue-

zalan
Reported 2014-12-09 19:14:25 PST
1. Turn on "show tiled scrolling indicator" 2. Go to http://www.huffingtonpost.com 3. Notice that we continuously repaint content out of view.
Attachments
Patch (12.85 KB, patch)
2014-12-09 20:35 PST, zalan
no flags
Patch (12.67 KB, patch)
2014-12-10 14:39 PST, zalan
zalan: commit-queue-
zalan
Comment 1 2014-12-09 20:35:11 PST
zalan
Comment 2 2014-12-09 20:49:39 PST
Comment on attachment 242986 [details] Patch View in context: https://bugs.webkit.org/attachment.cgi?id=242986&action=review > LayoutTests/platform/mac/fast/line-grid/line-align-right-edges-expected.txt:25 > - RenderText {#text} at (170,3) size 120x24 > - text run at (170,3) width 120: "X X X" > + RenderText {#text} at (161,3) size 120x24 > + text run at (161,3) width 120: "X X X" Dave, this is the line-grid issue that I mentioned. Apparently the relative value of the left position for a line inside a grid depends on the position of the parent. Normally (simple case) if a box is at (10px,10px) relative to its parent, when the parent moves the child box still has the (10px, 10px) relative position (layout time). However, in RenderBlock::adjustLogicalLeftOffsetForLine() we use the current layoutOffset when figuring out the left value for a line (grid line case only). It produces different output now that we "skip" a layout for that line (renders the same when loading it to Safari). Do you know what we are supposed to do here?
Antti Koivisto
Comment 3 2014-12-10 07:05:55 PST
Comment on attachment 242986 [details] Patch View in context: https://bugs.webkit.org/attachment.cgi?id=242986&action=review > Source/WebCore/rendering/RenderBlockFlow.cpp:3497 > - ASSERT(!m_lineBoxes.firstLineBox()); > + bool needsLayout = selfNeedsLayout() || relayoutChildren || !m_simpleLineLayout; > + if (needsLayout) { > + deleteLineBoxesBeforeSimpleLineLayout(); > + ASSERT(!m_lineBoxes.firstLineBox()); > > - m_simpleLineLayout = SimpleLineLayout::create(*this); > + m_simpleLineLayout = SimpleLineLayout::create(*this); > + } else { > + // Any property change that triggers line layout mode switching should also dirty the box. > + ASSERT(!m_lineBoxes.firstLineBox()); > + } You should just have one assert below the if() covering all cases.
zalan
Comment 4 2014-12-10 14:39:42 PST
zalan
Comment 5 2014-12-10 19:28:52 PST
zalan
Comment 6 2014-12-10 20:41:33 PST
Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.