Bug 137082

Summary: Web Replay: record event loop timings using elapsed time during capturing only
Product: WebKit Reporter: Brian Burg <burg>
Component: Web InspectorAssignee: Nobody <webkit-unassigned>
Status: RESOLVED LATER    
Severity: Normal CC: graouts, inspector-bugzilla-changes, webkit-bug-importer
Priority: P2 Keywords: InRadar
Version: 528+ (Nightly build)   
Hardware: All   
OS: All   
Bug Depends on:    
Bug Blocks: 136290    
Attachments:
Description Flags
WIP
none
WIP none

Description Brian Burg 2014-09-24 16:04:06 PDT
We capture new timings on capture/replay currently, which makes it hard to do anything sensible on the timelines UI.
Comment 1 Radar WebKit Bug Importer 2014-09-24 16:04:25 PDT
<rdar://problem/18447710>
Comment 2 Brian Burg 2014-09-24 16:05:05 PDT
Created attachment 238616 [details]
WIP
Comment 3 Timothy Hatcher 2014-09-24 21:46:51 PDT
Comment on attachment 238616 [details]
WIP

View in context: https://bugs.webkit.org/attachment.cgi?id=238616&action=review

> Source/WebCore/replay/CapturingInputCursor.cpp:62
> +    , m_stopwatch(Stopwatch::create())

Maybe I don't understand. but it seems odd to create and store Stopwatch here.

> Source/WebCore/replay/ReplaySessionSegment.h:56
> +    Vector<double, 0>& eventLoopTimings() { return m_eventLoopTimings; }

Why the ", 0"? Isn't that the default?
Comment 4 Brian Burg 2015-01-12 17:27:55 PST
(In reply to comment #3)
> Comment on attachment 238616 [details]
> WIP
> 
> View in context:
> https://bugs.webkit.org/attachment.cgi?id=238616&action=review
> 
> > Source/WebCore/replay/CapturingInputCursor.cpp:62
> > +    , m_stopwatch(Stopwatch::create())
> 
> Maybe I don't understand. but it seems odd to create and store Stopwatch
> here.

It seemed like the best place for the stopwatch. CapturingInputCursor is only available while capturing, and we only need this stopwatch during capturing. If it belonged to ReplayController it might be shared accidentally between sessions. It could belong on ReplaySession or ReplaySessionSegment, but then it would do nothing but waste space once capturing is done.
Comment 5 Brian Burg 2015-01-14 10:52:29 PST
Created attachment 244613 [details]
WIP
Comment 6 Brian Burg 2015-01-14 10:53:13 PST
Comment on attachment 244613 [details]
WIP

Wrong bug. webkit-patch gets real confused by git sometimes :(
Comment 7 BJ Burg 2017-07-10 14:01:30 PDT
Closing web replay-related bugs until we resume working on the feature again.