Bug 127663

Summary: Web Inspector: Include profile with FunctionCall and EvaluateScript Timeline records
Product: WebKit Reporter: Timothy Hatcher <timothy>
Component: Web InspectorAssignee: Timothy Hatcher <timothy>
Status: RESOLVED FIXED    
Severity: Normal CC: commit-queue, graouts, joepeck, timothy, webkit-bug-importer
Priority: P2 Keywords: InRadar
Version: 528+ (Nightly build)   
Hardware: All   
OS: All   
Attachments:
Description Flags
Patch joepeck: review+, timothy: commit-queue-

Timothy Hatcher
Reported 2014-01-26 16:43:37 PST
Auto record a profile for FunctionCall and EvaluateScript timeline records.
Attachments
Patch (25.29 KB, patch)
2014-01-26 16:47 PST, Timothy Hatcher
joepeck: review+
timothy: commit-queue-
Radar WebKit Bug Importer
Comment 1 2014-01-26 16:43:48 PST
Timothy Hatcher
Comment 2 2014-01-26 16:47:26 PST
WebKit Commit Bot
Comment 3 2014-01-26 16:49:57 PST
Attachment 222291 [details] did not pass style-queue: ERROR: Source/WebCore/bindings/js/JSCallbackData.cpp:80: Wrong number of spaces before statement. (expected: 12) [whitespace/indent] [4] ERROR: Source/WebCore/bindings/js/JSEventListener.cpp:136: Wrong number of spaces before statement. (expected: 16) [whitespace/indent] [4] Total errors found: 2 in 20 files If any of these errors are false positives, please file a bug against check-webkit-style.
Joseph Pecoraro
Comment 4 2014-01-28 16:19:12 PST
Comment on attachment 222291 [details] Patch View in context: https://bugs.webkit.org/attachment.cgi?id=222291&action=review r=me, looks fine I'd be worried about a lot of extra / duplicated data being sent to the frontend. Also it would be really great to include a test for this. LayoutTests/inspector-protocol/timeline/profiler-data-in-script-execution.html or something like that. > Source/WebCore/inspector/InspectorTimelineAgent.cpp:338 > + RefPtr<ScriptProfile> profile = ScriptProfiler::stop(toJSDOMWindow(frame, debuggerWorld())->globalExec(), ASCIILiteral("Timeline EvaluateScript")); > + TimelineRecordFactory::appendProfile(entry.data.get(), profile.release()); Seems like we could be duplicating a bunch of data sent to the frontend? It seems nested ScriptProfiler::start/stops are fine, but each time it stops it sends an entire profiler, much of which could be data already captured and sent in another profile? I know you measured, what was the performance impact of this? > Source/WebCore/inspector/TimelineRecordFactory.cpp:257 > + data->setValue("profile", profile->buildInspectorObjectForHead()); Nit: ASCIILiteral("profile")
Timothy Hatcher
Comment 5 2014-01-30 17:31:11 PST
Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.