Bug 127663

Summary: Web Inspector: Include profile with FunctionCall and EvaluateScript Timeline records
Product: WebKit Reporter: Timothy Hatcher <timothy>
Component: Web InspectorAssignee: Timothy Hatcher <timothy>
Status: RESOLVED FIXED    
Severity: Normal CC: commit-queue, graouts, joepeck, timothy, webkit-bug-importer
Priority: P2 Keywords: InRadar
Version: 528+ (Nightly build)   
Hardware: All   
OS: All   
Attachments:
Description Flags
Patch joepeck: review+, timothy: commit-queue-

Description Timothy Hatcher 2014-01-26 16:43:37 PST
Auto record a profile for FunctionCall and EvaluateScript timeline records.
Comment 1 Radar WebKit Bug Importer 2014-01-26 16:43:48 PST
<rdar://problem/15911575>
Comment 2 Timothy Hatcher 2014-01-26 16:47:26 PST
Created attachment 222291 [details]
Patch
Comment 3 WebKit Commit Bot 2014-01-26 16:49:57 PST
Attachment 222291 [details] did not pass style-queue:


ERROR: Source/WebCore/bindings/js/JSCallbackData.cpp:80:  Wrong number of spaces before statement. (expected: 12)  [whitespace/indent] [4]
ERROR: Source/WebCore/bindings/js/JSEventListener.cpp:136:  Wrong number of spaces before statement. (expected: 16)  [whitespace/indent] [4]
Total errors found: 2 in 20 files


If any of these errors are false positives, please file a bug against check-webkit-style.
Comment 4 Joseph Pecoraro 2014-01-28 16:19:12 PST
Comment on attachment 222291 [details]
Patch

View in context: https://bugs.webkit.org/attachment.cgi?id=222291&action=review

r=me, looks fine I'd be worried about a lot of extra / duplicated data being sent to the frontend.

Also it would be really great to include a test for this. LayoutTests/inspector-protocol/timeline/profiler-data-in-script-execution.html or something like that.

> Source/WebCore/inspector/InspectorTimelineAgent.cpp:338
> +        RefPtr<ScriptProfile> profile = ScriptProfiler::stop(toJSDOMWindow(frame, debuggerWorld())->globalExec(), ASCIILiteral("Timeline EvaluateScript"));
> +        TimelineRecordFactory::appendProfile(entry.data.get(), profile.release());

Seems like we could be duplicating a bunch of data sent to the frontend?

It seems nested ScriptProfiler::start/stops are fine, but each time it stops it sends an entire profiler, much of which could be data already captured and sent in another profile?

I know you measured, what was the performance impact of this?

> Source/WebCore/inspector/TimelineRecordFactory.cpp:257
> +    data->setValue("profile", profile->buildInspectorObjectForHead());

Nit: ASCIILiteral("profile")
Comment 5 Timothy Hatcher 2014-01-30 17:31:11 PST
https://trac.webkit.org/r163139