Bug 127455

Summary: Debug mechanism to override process QoS on Mac
Product: WebKit Reporter: Gavin Barraclough <barraclough>
Component: WebKit2Assignee: Gavin Barraclough <barraclough>
Status: NEW ---    
Severity: Normal    
Priority: P2    
Version: 525.x (Safari 3.1)   
Hardware: Unspecified   
OS: Unspecified   
Attachments:
Description Flags
fix andersca: review+

Description Gavin Barraclough 2014-01-22 17:27:34 PST
.
Comment 1 Gavin Barraclough 2014-01-22 17:30:26 PST
Created attachment 221926 [details]
fix
Comment 2 Gavin Barraclough 2014-01-22 18:12:20 PST
Transmitting file data ............
Committed revision 162578.
Comment 3 Sam Weinig 2014-01-22 18:24:46 PST
Comment on attachment 221926 [details]
fix

View in context: https://bugs.webkit.org/attachment.cgi?id=221926&action=review

> Source/WebKit2/Shared/mac/ChildProcessMac.mm:206
> +#if !PLATFORM(IOS) && __MAC_OS_X_VERSION_MIN_REQUIRED >= 1090

Can this be HAVE(QOS...)?

> Source/WebKit2/UIProcess/WebContext.cpp:397
> +#if PLATFORM(MAC)
> +    m_networkProcess->send(Messages::NetworkProcess::SetQOS(networkProcessLatencyQOS(), networkProcessThroughputQOS()), 0);
> +#endif

Any reason this can't go in the the InitializeNetworkProcess call?

> Source/WebKit2/UIProcess/WebContext.cpp:614
> +#if PLATFORM(MAC)
> +    process->send(Messages::WebProcess::SetQOS(webProcessLatencyQOS(), webProcessThroughputQOS()), 0);
> +#endif

Any reason this can't go in the the InitializeWebProcess call?

> Source/WebKit2/UIProcess/WebContext.h:93
> +#if PLATFORM(MAC)
> +int networkProcessLatencyQOS();
> +int networkProcessThroughputQOS();
> +int webProcessLatencyQOS();
> +int webProcessThroughputQOS();
> +#endif

If these are Mac specific, please add them to their own header.

> Source/WebKit2/UIProcess/Plugins/PluginProcessProxy.cpp:213
> +#if PLATFORM(MAC)
> +    m_connection->send(Messages::PluginProcess::SetQOS(pluginProcessLatencyQOS(), pluginProcessThroughputQOS()), 0);
> +#endif

Any reason this can't go in the the InitializePluginProcess call?