Bug 122177

Summary: Support HTML5 canvas draw{Custom,System}FocusRing()
Product: WebKit Reporter: Rik Cabanier <cabanier>
Component: CanvasAssignee: Rik Cabanier <cabanier>
Status: RESOLVED WONTFIX    
Severity: Normal CC: aboxhall, apinheiro, bfulgham, buildbot, cabanier, cdumez, cfleizach, commit-queue, dmazzoni, esprehn+autocc, gyuyoung.kim, jdiggs, kling, kondapallykalyan, krit, mario, mike, oliver, rniwa, simon.fraser, syoichi, thorton
Priority: P2    
Version: 528+ (Nightly build)   
Hardware: Unspecified   
OS: Unspecified   
Attachments:
Description Flags
Patch
none
Archive of layout-test-results from webkit-ews-05 for mac-mountainlion
none
Archive of layout-test-results from webkit-ews-10 for mac-mountainlion-wk2
none
Archive of layout-test-results from webkit-ews-06 for mac-mountainlion
none
Patch none

Description Rik Cabanier 2013-10-01 14:05:09 PDT
The Canvas spec lists 2 methods for drawing focus rings: drawSystemFocusRing and drawCustomFocusRing

http://www.w3.org/TR/2dcontext/#dom-context-2d-drawsystemfocusring
http://www.w3.org/TR/2dcontext/#dom-context-2d-drawcustomfocusring

Experimental support for these methods has landed in blink (http://src.chromium.org/viewvc/blink?view=revision&revision=155185) and I'm working on getting it submitted for Firefox (https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=540456)

This seems like an easy fix. In addition, OSX seems to have a method called wkDrawFocusRing that could be used.
Comment 1 Rik Cabanier 2013-10-08 19:48:34 PDT
Created attachment 213744 [details]
Patch
Comment 2 Rik Cabanier 2013-10-08 19:49:17 PDT
Comment on attachment 213744 [details]
Patch

not for review. just to see if I broke something
Comment 3 Build Bot 2013-10-08 21:01:11 PDT
Comment on attachment 213744 [details]
Patch

Attachment 213744 [details] did not pass mac-ews (mac):
Output: http://webkit-queues.appspot.com/results/3746297

New failing tests:
inspector/profiler/canvas2d/canvas2d-api-changes.html
Comment 4 Build Bot 2013-10-08 21:01:17 PDT
Created attachment 213749 [details]
Archive of layout-test-results from webkit-ews-05 for mac-mountainlion

The attached test failures were seen while running run-webkit-tests on the mac-ews.
Bot: webkit-ews-05  Port: mac-mountainlion  Platform: Mac OS X 10.8.5
Comment 5 Build Bot 2013-10-08 21:43:31 PDT
Comment on attachment 213744 [details]
Patch

Attachment 213744 [details] did not pass mac-wk2-ews (mac-wk2):
Output: http://webkit-queues.appspot.com/results/3750227

New failing tests:
inspector/profiler/canvas2d/canvas2d-api-changes.html
Comment 6 Build Bot 2013-10-08 21:43:36 PDT
Created attachment 213750 [details]
Archive of layout-test-results from webkit-ews-10 for mac-mountainlion-wk2

The attached test failures were seen while running run-webkit-tests on the mac-wk2-ews.
Bot: webkit-ews-10  Port: mac-mountainlion-wk2  Platform: Mac OS X 10.8.5
Comment 7 Build Bot 2013-10-08 21:53:16 PDT
Comment on attachment 213744 [details]
Patch

Attachment 213744 [details] did not pass mac-ews (mac):
Output: http://webkit-queues.appspot.com/results/3762031

New failing tests:
inspector/profiler/canvas2d/canvas2d-api-changes.html
Comment 8 Build Bot 2013-10-08 21:53:22 PDT
Created attachment 213751 [details]
Archive of layout-test-results from webkit-ews-06 for mac-mountainlion

The attached test failures were seen while running run-webkit-tests on the mac-ews.
Bot: webkit-ews-06  Port: mac-mountainlion  Platform: Mac OS X 10.8.5
Comment 9 Rik Cabanier 2013-10-08 23:06:22 PDT
Created attachment 213755 [details]
Patch
Comment 10 Rik Cabanier 2013-10-08 23:06:45 PDT
Comment on attachment 213755 [details]
Patch

not for review
Comment 11 chris fleizach 2013-10-10 01:09:39 PDT
Comment on attachment 213755 [details]
Patch

View in context: https://bugs.webkit.org/attachment.cgi?id=213755&action=review

> Source/WebCore/accessibility/AccessibilityNodeObject.cpp:241
> +    if (m_hasExplicitRect)

I think it would be nicer if the AX code could calculate the rect when requested, rather than have it set and be updated all the time. That's what happens for most of the other AX data
Comment 12 Rik Cabanier 2013-10-10 10:39:40 PDT
(In reply to comment #11)
> (From update of attachment 213755 [details])
> View in context: https://bugs.webkit.org/attachment.cgi?id=213755&action=review
> 
> > Source/WebCore/accessibility/AccessibilityNodeObject.cpp:241
> > +    if (m_hasExplicitRect)
> 
> I think it would be nicer if the AX code could calculate the rect when requested, rather than have it set and be updated all the time. That's what happens for most of the other AX data

I agree. Can you point me to some documentation for the AX classes or files/code where this should be changed?
Comment 13 Dirk Schulze 2014-04-03 01:33:39 PDT
(In reply to comment #12)
> (In reply to comment #11)
> > (From update of attachment 213755 [details] [details])
> > View in context: https://bugs.webkit.org/attachment.cgi?id=213755&action=review
> > 
> > > Source/WebCore/accessibility/AccessibilityNodeObject.cpp:241
> > > +    if (m_hasExplicitRect)
> > 
> > I think it would be nicer if the AX code could calculate the rect when requested, rather than have it set and be updated all the time. That's what happens for most of the other AX data
> 
> I agree. Can you point me to some documentation for the AX classes or files/code where this should be changed?

Any update on that?
Comment 14 chris fleizach 2014-04-03 01:36:04 PDT
(In reply to comment #13)
> (In reply to comment #12)
> > (In reply to comment #11)
> > > (From update of attachment 213755 [details] [details] [details])
> > > View in context: https://bugs.webkit.org/attachment.cgi?id=213755&action=review
> > > 
> > > > Source/WebCore/accessibility/AccessibilityNodeObject.cpp:241
> > > > +    if (m_hasExplicitRect)
> > > 
> > > I think it would be nicer if the AX code could calculate the rect when requested, rather than have it set and be updated all the time. That's what happens for most of the other AX data
> > 
> > I agree. Can you point me to some documentation for the AX classes or files/code where this should be changed?
> 
> Any update on that?

What are you looking for? I think in accessibilityElementRect, you would want to calculate this value on the fly rather than setting
Comment 15 Rik Cabanier 2014-05-05 15:43:50 PDT
These API were renamed and some of their functionality was removed.