Bug 112319

Summary: Cannot select a canvas element at the beginning or the end of a document
Product: WebKit Reporter: Ryosuke Niwa <rniwa>
Component: HTML EditingAssignee: Ryosuke Niwa <rniwa>
Status: RESOLVED FIXED    
Severity: Normal CC: ap, darin, enrica, eric, esprehn+autocc, junov, leviw, morrita, ojan.autocc, ojan, senorblanco, webkit-bug-importer, webkit.review.bot
Priority: P2 Keywords: InRadar
Version: 528+ (Nightly build)   
Hardware: Unspecified   
OS: Unspecified   
Bug Depends on:    
Bug Blocks: 117860    
Attachments:
Description Flags
Demo
none
Fixes the bug eric: review+

Description Ryosuke Niwa 2013-03-13 21:10:00 PDT
Created attachment 193057 [details]
Demo

With the following markup, you can select the second canvas but not the first or the third canvas elements.
<!DOCTYPE html>
<html>
<body>
<canvas width="100" height="100" style="border: 1px solid black"></canvas>
some text
<canvas width="100" height="100" style="border: 1px solid black"></canvas>
some more text
<canvas width="100" height="100" style="border: 1px solid black"></canvas>
</body>
</html>
Comment 1 Radar WebKit Bug Importer 2013-03-13 21:30:55 PDT
<rdar://problem/13417656>
Comment 2 Ryosuke Niwa 2013-03-13 23:41:26 PDT
Created attachment 193075 [details]
Fixes the bug
Comment 3 Eric Seidel (no email) 2013-03-13 23:52:05 PDT
Comment on attachment 193075 [details]
Fixes the bug

OK.
Comment 4 Ryosuke Niwa 2013-03-13 23:54:38 PDT
Committed r145788: <http://trac.webkit.org/changeset/145788>
Comment 5 Justin Novosad 2013-05-31 10:56:45 PDT
(In reply to comment #4)
> Committed r145788: <http://trac.webkit.org/changeset/145788>

Just so you know, this patch caused a regression: https://code.google.com/p/chromium/issues/detail?id=244289
We are likely to revert it in Blink, and look for an alternate solution.

Cheers!
Comment 6 Stephen White 2013-06-05 07:33:47 PDT
FYI: this seems to break mouse up event handling on many canvas sites. See: https://code.google.com/p/chromium/issues/detail?id=244289.

rniwa: was there a follow-up patch that fixed this issue?