Bug 112284

Summary: Also don't log error messages from the GraphicsContext3D if webGLErrorsToConsoleEnabled is false
Product: WebKit Reporter: jochen
Component: New BugsAssignee: jochen
Status: RESOLVED FIXED    
Severity: Normal CC: abarth, dino, esprehn+autocc, gman, ojan.autocc, piman, webkit.review.bot
Priority: P2    
Version: 528+ (Nightly build)   
Hardware: Unspecified   
OS: Unspecified   
Attachments:
Description Flags
Patch
none
Patch none

Description jochen 2013-03-13 13:19:46 PDT
Also don't log error messages from the GraphicsContext3D if webGLErrorsToConsoleEnabled is false
Comment 1 jochen 2013-03-13 13:20:59 PDT
Created attachment 192982 [details]
Patch
Comment 2 Adam Barth 2013-03-13 13:38:28 PDT
Comment on attachment 192982 [details]
Patch

View in context: https://bugs.webkit.org/attachment.cgi?id=192982&action=review

> Source/WebCore/ChangeLog:9
> +        Since webGLErrorsToConsoleEnabled is false durin layout tests, this change makes

durin -> during

> Source/WebCore/html/canvas/WebGLRenderingContext.cpp:399
> +        if (m_context->m_synthesizedErrorsToConsole)
> +            m_context->printGLErrorToConsole(message);

Why isn't this needed in DRT?  Perhaps the filtering is supposed to happen at another layer?
Comment 3 jochen 2013-03-13 13:42:45 PDT
Created attachment 192986 [details]
Patch
Comment 4 jochen 2013-03-13 13:53:42 PDT
(In reply to comment #2)
> (From update of attachment 192982 [details])
> View in context: https://bugs.webkit.org/attachment.cgi?id=192982&action=review
> 
> > Source/WebCore/ChangeLog:9
> > +        Since webGLErrorsToConsoleEnabled is false durin layout tests, this change makes
> 
> durin -> during
> 
> > Source/WebCore/html/canvas/WebGLRenderingContext.cpp:399
> > +        if (m_context->m_synthesizedErrorsToConsole)
> > +            m_context->printGLErrorToConsole(message);
> 
> Why isn't this needed in DRT?  Perhaps the filtering is supposed to happen at another layer?

For DRT, we use WebGraphicsContext3DInProcessImpl  which doesn't implement WebGraphicsContext3D::setErrorMessageCallback()

If we instead not invoke the error message callback in the out-of-process version used in content shell, the error messages also won't show up in the regular log which might make debugging of real errors in the future more difficult.
Comment 5 Adam Barth 2013-03-13 14:49:13 PDT
Comment on attachment 192986 [details]
Patch

ok
Comment 6 WebKit Review Bot 2013-03-13 15:26:23 PDT
Comment on attachment 192986 [details]
Patch

Clearing flags on attachment: 192986

Committed r145761: <http://trac.webkit.org/changeset/145761>
Comment 7 WebKit Review Bot 2013-03-13 15:26:26 PDT
All reviewed patches have been landed.  Closing bug.